Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Better Off Dead Details


Most animation aficionados of the 1990s know "Savage Steve Holland" as the cocreator (with Bill Kopp) of the all-stops-out TV cartoon series Eek! The Cat. But Holland had been exercising his own peculiar brand of deviltry on live characters long before Eek! came into being. In Holland's Holland, John Cusack plays a lovestruck teenager, hopelessly enamored with Amanda Wyss. When she dumps him in favor of a more popular high-schooler, the boy's entire day quickly goes to Hell. In the words of Hamlet, all occasions do inform against Cusack: he is bullied, tormented and torn apart by everyone from the paperboy (who seemingly turns up everywhere) to the disembodied voice of a radio deejay. Cusack attempts suicide, but his efforts are just as unsuccessful-and amusing-as Bud Cort's in Bud Cort. Meanwhile, French exchange student Diane Franklin, held a virtual prisoner by her host family, develops a long-distance crush on Cusack. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 11, 1985


John Cusack
as Lane Myer
David Ogden Stiers
as Al Myer
Kim Darby
as Jenny Myer
Demian Slade
as Johnny Gasparini
Scooter Stevens
as Badger Myer
Diane Franklin
as Monique Junet
Laura Waterbury
as Mrs. Smith
Curtis Armstrong
as Charles De Mer
Amanda Wyss
as Beth Truss
Aaron Dozier
as Roy Stalin
Yuji Okumoto
as Yee Sook Ree
Brian Imada
as Chen Ree
Rich Little
Joey Tushnet
as Paperboy
Thomas Rollerson
as Roller Skater
Steven Williams
as Tree Trimmer
Rick Rosenthal
as Smitty
Toby Iland
as Nerd #1
Edward Mehler
as Buster
Elizabeth Daily
as Herself
Sam High
as Jock #2
Yano Anaya
as Paperboy
Tina Littlewood
as Chris Cummins
Taylor Negron
as Mailman
Dan Schneider
as Ricky Smith
Vincent Schiavelli
as Mr. Kerber


Savage Steve Holland
Michael Jaffe
Savage Steve Holland
Isidore Mankofsky
Isidore Mankofsky
Rupert Hine
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Balsam
Herman Zimmerman
Production Designer
Andrew Meyer
Executive Producer
Gil Friesen
Executive Producer
Brad Loman
Costume Designer
Roy Downey
Special Effects