Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Better Off Dead Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Most animation aficionados of the 1990s know "Savage [[Performer~P94678~Steve Holland~steveholland]]" as the cocreator (with [[Performer~P97880~Bill Kopp~billkopp]]) of the all-stops-out TV cartoon series Eek! The Cat. But [[Performer~P94676~Holland~savagesteveholland]] had been exercising his own peculiar brand of deviltry on live characters long before Eek! came into being. In [[Performer~P94676~Holland~savagesteveholland]]'s [[Feature~V132660~Better Off Dead~betteroffdead]], [[Performer~P16329~John Cusack~johncusack]] plays a lovestruck teenager, hopelessly enamored with [[Performer~P77765~Amanda Wyss~amandawyss]]. When she dumps him in favor of a more popular high-schooler, the boy's entire day quickly goes to Hell. In the words of Hamlet, all occasions do inform against [[Performer~P16329~Cusack~johncusack]]: he is bullied, tormented and torn apart by everyone from the paperboy (who seemingly turns up everywhere) to the disembodied voice of a radio deejay. [[Performer~P16329~Cusack~johncusack]] attempts suicide, but his efforts are just as unsuccessful-and amusing-as [[Performer~P85967~Bud Cort~budcort]]'s in [[Feature~V21605~Harold and Maude~haroldandmaude]]. Meanwhile, French exchange student [[Performer~P24786~Diane Franklin~dianefranklin]], held a virtual prisoner by her host family, develops a long-distance crush on [[Performer~P16329~Cusack~johncusack]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 11, 1985

Cast

John Cusack
as Lane Myer
David Ogden Stiers
as Al Myer
Kim Darby
as Jenny Myer
Demian Slade
as Johnny Gasparini
Scooter Stevens
as Badger Myer
Diane Franklin
as Monique Junet
Laura Waterbury
as Mrs. Smith
Curtis Armstrong
as Charles De Mer
Amanda Wyss
as Beth Truss
Aaron Dozier
as Roy Stalin
Yano Anaya
as Paperboy
Dan Schneider
as Ricky Smith
Joey Tushnet
as Paperboy
Yuji Okumoto
as Yee Sook Ree
Sam High
as Jock #2
Taylor Negron
as Mailman
Steven Williams
as Tree Trimmer
Tina Littlewood
as Chris Cummins
Rick Rosenthal
as Smitty
Toby Iland
as Nerd #1
Elizabeth Daily
as Herself
Edward Mehler
as Buster
Vincent Schiavelli
as Mr. Kerber
Brian Imada
as Chen Ree
Thomas Rollerson
as Roller Skater

Crew

Savage Steve Holland
Director
Michael Jaffe
Producer
Savage Steve Holland
Screenwriter
Isidore Mankofsky
Screenwriter
Isidore Mankofsky
Cinematographer
Rupert Hine
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Balsam
Editor
Herman Zimmerman
Production Designer
Andrew Meyer
Executive Producer
Gil Friesen
Executive Producer
Brad Loman
Costume Designer
Roy Downey
Special Effects
Advertisement