Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A small group of British retirees learn that the life they want to live might not be the life they need to live after pooling their resources to spend their twilight years in a unique setting located in India. Upon arriving at the once-opulent Marigold Hotel, however, the eager pensioners come to realize that rumors of the building's restoration have been greatly exaggerated. But just when it starts to seem that the privileged seniors have been swindled out of their life savings, they summon the courage to sever their ties to the past, and embrace their new life with a sense of wonder and adventure. [[Performer~P76333~Tom Wilkinson~tomwilkinson]], [[Performer~P66495~Maggie Smith~maggiesmith]], [[Performer~P18570~Judi Dench~judidench]], [[Performer~P52695~Bill Nighy~billnighy]], and [[Performer~P527866~Dev Patel~devpatel]] star in this uplifting comedy-drama from director [[Performer~P100694~John Madden~johnmadden]] ([[Feature~V471464~The Debt~thedebt]], [[Feature~V174142~Shakespeare in Love~shakespeareinlove]]). ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 4, 2012

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Screen Actors Guild Penelope Wilton Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Bill Nighy Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Maggie Smith Best Supporting Actress 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Maggie Smith Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Ronald Pickup Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Tom Wilkinson Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Judi Dench Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Judi Dench Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Celia Imrie Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee
Art Directors Guild Alan Macdonald Best Art Direction in a Contemporary Film 2012 Nominee
American Cinema Editors Guild Chris Gill Best Edited Feature - Comedy or Musical 2012 Nominee
Screen Actors Guild Dev Patel Best Ensemble 2012 Nominee

Cast

Tom Wilkinson
as Graham Dashwood
Maggie Smith
as Muriel Donnelly
Judi Dench
as Evelyn Greenslade
Bill Nighy
as Douglas Ainslie
Dev Patel
as Sonny Kapoor
Celia Imrie
as Madge Hardcastle
Penelope Wilton
as Jean Ainslie
Patrick Pearson
as Graham's Colleague
Liza Tarbuck
as Staff Nurse
Paul Bhattacharjee
as Dr. Ghujarapartidar
Lucy Robinson
as Judith
Ronald Pickup
as Norman Cousins
Sara Stewart
as Madge's Daughter
Glen Davies
as Taxi Driver
Jay Villiers
as Evelyn's Son
Paul Bentall
as Evelyn's Lawyer
Richard Cubison
as Douglas's Golf Partner
Joshua Cole
as Airport Security Guard
Honey Chhaya
as Young Wasim
Seema Azmi
as Anokhi
Lillete Dubey
as Mrs. Kapoor
Denzil Smith
as Viceroy Club Secretary
Diana Hardcastle
as Carol
Neena Kulkarni
as Gaurika
Rajendra Gupta
as Manoj

Crew

John Madden
Director
Peter Czernin
Producer
Graham Broadbent
Producer
Deborah Moggach
Book Author
Ol Parker
Screenwriter
Ben Davis
Cinematographer
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Chris Gill
Editor
Alan Macdonald
Production Designer
Peter Francis
Supervising Art Director
Dilip More
Art Director
Caroline Hewitt
Co-producer
Sarah Harvey
Co-producer
Jonathan King
Executive Producer
Jeff Skoll
Executive Producer
Ricky Strauss
Executive Producer
Tina Jones
Set Decorator
Louise Stjernsward
Costume Designer
Deborah Saban
First Assistant Director
Rajeev Mehra
Production Manager
Michelle Guish
Casting
Pravesh Sahni
Line Producer
Jody Johnson
Visual Effects Supervisor
Kim Armitage
Script Supervisor
Kumar Rajendra
Properties Master
Linda Gamble
Unit Publicist
Sham Kaushal
Stunts Coordinator
Steve Single
Re-Recording Mixer
Tim Cavagin
Re-Recording Mixer
Trevor Ingman
Production Supervisor
Beverly Binda
Department Head Hair
Beverly Binda
Department Head Makeup
Resul Pookutty
Sound Recordist
Craig Irving
Re-Recording Mixer
Fay McConkey
Visual Effects Producer
Alistair Hopkins
Post Production Supervisor
Advertisement