Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bent Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P145739~Sean Mathias~seanmathias]] directed this screen adaptation of [[Performer~P152620~Martin Sherman~martinsherman]]'s award-winning play about the persecution of homosexuals by Nazis during World War II. In Germany, the Nazi party's program of genocide against any and all perceived "enemies" is coming into full swing when the party begins a violent purge of homosexuals in its membership. Max ([[Performer~P54491~Clive Owen~cliveowen]]), a bisexual playboy, is attending an orgy thrown by drag queen "Greta" ([[Performer~P95775~Mick Jagger~mickjagger]]) and featuring a number of party members when the festivities are raided by the police; Max and his lover Rudy ([[Performer~P226557~Brian Webber~brianwebber]]) escape, but they are later arrested and sentenced to a concentration camp. En route to the camp, Max betrays Rudy and arranges to be given a yellow identification star, marking him as a Jew, instead of a pink triangle, which would signify him as gay; while the Jews are destined to be executed, gay prisoners receive even more brutal treatment from the guards. While incarcerated, Max meets Horst ([[Performer~P6907~Lothaire Bluteau~lothairebluteau]]), an inmate who proudly wears the pink triangle. Max and Horst fall in love with each other, and Horst's bravery leads Max to accept his sexual identity. Bent was released in two versions; the original cut was rated NC-17 for a sequence featuring strong sexual content, while a trimmed version was granted an R. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Crew

Sean Mathias
Director
Michael Solinger
Producer
Dixie Linder
Producer
Martin Sherman
Screenwriter
Martin Sherman
Play Author
Georges Arvanitis
Cinematographer
Philip Glass
Composer (Music Score)
Isabelle Lorente
Editor
Martin Sherman
Co-producer
Sean Mathias
Co-producer
Hisami Kuroiwa
Executive Producer
Advertisement