Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bells Are Ringing Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P32908~Judy Holliday~judyholliday]] re-creates her Broadway role of flibbertigibbet telephone operator Ella Peterson in Bells are Ringing. Ella works for Susanswerphone, a hole-in-the-wall answering service run by her cousin Sue ([[Performer~P67651~Jean Stapleton~jeanstapleton]]). Our girl Ella can't help but become involved in the lives of her customers, which brings her to the attention of a dimwitted police detective, Barnes ([[Performer~P13362~Dort Clark~dortclark]]), who suspects that Susanswerphone is a front for a house of ill repute. The cop is so obtuse that he never notices the story's genuine criminal, a flamboyant German bookie ([[Performer~P24615~Eddie Foy Jr.~eddiefoyjr]]) who poses as a record executive and uses the names of composers as code for the various racetracks around the country. To avoid Barnes' wiretapping, Ella goes around New York in person to minister to the needs of her clients--most notably playwright Jeffrey Moss ([[Performer~P121802~Dean Martin~deanmartin]]), who is in danger of becoming an alcoholic if he can't come up with a good idea for a play. Assuming a false identity, Ella prattles on about some of her other clients, notably a dentist ([[Performer~P75593~Bernie West~berniewest]]) who composes pop songs on his air hose. Moss is inspired by Ella, and eventually falls in love with her. Because she will not reveal who she really is to Jeffrey, Ella decides that her relationship is founded on lies, and walks out of his life. But Moss, together with the other Susanswerphone customers who have been "rescued" by Ella, show up at Ella's doorstep for a happy ending. Bells are Ringing is not an example of MGM's [[Performer~P90483~Arthur Freed~arthurfreed]] unit at its best, but [[Performer~P32908~Judy Holliday~judyholliday]] is luminescent in this, her last screen role (incidentally, [[Performer~P32908~Holliday~judyholliday]]'s "blind date" in one scene is played by her then boyfriend, jazz musician [[Performer~P51272~Gerry Mulligan~gerrymulligan]]). The film's songs, by [[Performer~P85609~Betty Comden~bettycomden]], [[Performer~P92415~Adolph Green~adolphgreen]] and [[Performer~P113151~Jule Styne~julestyne]], include the hit numbers "Just in Time" and "The Party's Over". ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 23, 1960

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Andre Previn Best Musical Score 1960 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Judy Holliday Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1960 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Vincente Minnelli Best Director 1960 Nominee

Cast

Judy Holliday
as Ella Peterson
Dean Martin
as Jeffrey Moss
Fred Clark
as Larry Hastings
Eddie Foy, Jr.
as J. Otto Prantz
Jean Stapleton
as Sue
Ruth Storey
as Gwynne
Frank Gorshin
as Blake Barton
Bernie West
as Dr. Joe Kitchell
Gerry Mulligan
as Ella's blind date
Nancy Walters

Crew

Vincente Minnelli
Director
Arthur Freed
Producer
Betty Comden
Screenwriter
Adolph Green
Screenwriter
Milton Krasner
Cinematographer
Betty Comden
Songwriter
Andre Previn
Composer (Music Score)
Betty Comden
Composer (Music Score)
Adolph Green
Songwriter
Jule Styne
Composer (Music Score)
Jule Styne
From Musical by
Jule Styne
Songwriter
Adolph Green
Composer (Music Score)
George W. Davis
Art Director
Walter Plunkett
Costume Designer
Charles O'Curran
Choreography
Advertisement