Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bell, Book and Candle Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P165697~John Van Druten~johnvandruten]]'s stage comedy Bell Book and Candle starred [[Performer~P30718~Rex Harrison~rexharrison]] and [[Performer~P54836~Lilli Palmer~lillipalmer]] on Broadway. The 1958 filmed version stars [[Performer~P229307~James Stewart~jamesstewart]] and [[Performer~P53120~Kim Novak~kimnovak]], fresh from their successful teaming in [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]]'s [[Feature~V136938~Vertigo~zavrat]]. [[Performer~P53120~Novak~kimnovak]] plays Gillian Holroyd, a genuine, bonafide witch. Falling in love with publisher Sheperd Henderson ([[Performer~P68236~Stewart~jamesstewart]]), Gillian casts a spell on him, obliging him to dump his fiancee and rush to her side. All of this goes against the grain of Gillian's mentor Mrs. De Pass ([[Performer~P27036~Hermione Gingold~hermionegingold]]), who does her best to counterract the love spell. Meanwhile, Gillian's wacky warlock brother Nicky ([[Performer~P99306~Jack Lemmon~jacklemmon]]) courts disaster by coauthoring a book on black magic with pompous, bibulous novelist Sidney Redlitch ([[Performer~P97995~Ernie Kovacs~erniekovacs]]). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 26, 1958

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Louis Diage Best Art Direction 1958 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jean Louis Best Costume Design 1958 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Cary O'Dell Best Art Direction 1958 Nominee

Cast

James Stewart
as Shepard Henderson
Kim Novak
as Gillian Holroyd
Jack Lemmon
as Mickey Holrod
Ernie Kovacs
as Sidney Redlitch
Hermione Gingold
as Mrs. De Pass
Elsa Lanchester
as Queenie
Janice Rule
as Merle Kittridge
Philippe Clay
as French Singer
Bek Nelson
as Secretary
Howard McNear
as Andy White
Wolfe Barzell
as Proprietor
Gail Bonney
as Merle's Maid
Monty Ash
as Herb Store Owner
John Truax
as Cab Driver
Don Brodie
as Cab Driver
Ollie O'Toole
as Elevator Operator

Crew

Richard Quine
Director
Julian Blaustein
Producer
John van Druten
Play Author
Daniel Taradash
Screenwriter
James Wong Howe
Cinematographer
George Duning
Composer (Music Score)
Cary O'Dell
Art Director
Louis Diage
Set Designer
Jean Louis
Costume Designer
Advertisement