Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Being Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P97853~Jackie Kong~jackiekong]], who later made the cult favorite [[Feature~V6101~Blood Diner~blooddiner]] (1987), directed this terrible monster movie for exploitation pioneer [[Performer~P54350~Bill Osco~billosco]], who stars under the pseudonym "[[Performer~P127882~Rexx Coltrane~rexxcoltrane]]." The plot concerns a mutant child who has become a monster after being exposed to toxic waste in a small Idaho town. Mortimer ([[Performer~P54350~Osco~billosco]]) wants to investigate a series of disappearances, only to have his efforts stymied by the town's mayor ([[Performer~P89648~José Ferrer~joséferrer]]), who is worried about the potential economic impact on the local potato industry. This abysmal horror film was made in 1980 and shelved for three years despite a cast which includes Oscar winners [[Performer~P89648~Ferrer~joséferrer]] and [[Performer~P44892~Dorothy Malone~dorothymalone]], [[Performer~P40247~Martin Landau~martinlandau]], and [[Performer~P25104~Kinky Friedman~kinkyfriedman]]. Other featured performers are [[Performer~P9987~Ruth Buzzi~ruthbuzzi]], [[Performer~P98726~Murray Langston~murraylangston]] ("The Unknown Comic"), and [[Performer~P61111~Kenny Rogers~kennyrogers]]' wife (at the time), [[Performer~P27804~Marianne Gordon~mariannegordon]]. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

  • Release date:November 18, 1983

Cast

Martin Landau
as Garson Jones
José Ferrer
as Mayor
Dorothy Malone
as Marge Smith
Ruth Buzzi
as Virginia Lane
Rexx Coltrane
as Mortimer Lutz
Kent Perkins
as Officer Dudley Ford
Kinky Friedman
as Willis
Marianne Gordon
as Laurie
Murray Langston
as Arn
Jerry Marin
as Monster
Johnny Dark
as John
Roger Smith
as Tow Truck Driver
Richard Marcus
as Joe The Lab Assistant
Ellen Blake
as Jenny

Crew

Jackie Kong
Director
Jackie Kong
Screenwriter
Hanania Baer
Cinematographer
Don Preston
Composer (Music Score)
Alexia Corwin
Art Director
Kent Perkins
Associate Producer
Advertisement