Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Beetlejuice Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Thanks to the carelessness of a cute little dog, newlyweds [[Performer~P17342~Geena Davis~geenadavis]] and [[Performer~P3515~Alec Baldwin~alecbaldwin]] are killed in a freak auto accident. Upon arriving in the outer offices of Heaven, the couple finds that, thanks to a century's worth of bureaucratic red tape, they're on a long celestial waiting list. Before they can earn their wings, [[Performer~P17342~Davis~geenadavis]] and [[Performer~P3515~Baldwin~alecbaldwin]] must occupy their old house as ghosts for the next fifty years. Alas, the house is now owned by insufferable yuppies [[Performer~P53463~Catherine O'Hara~catherineohara]] and [[Performer~P36137~Jeffrey Jones~jeffreyjones]]. Horrified at the prospect of sharing space with these obnoxious interlopers, [[Performer~P17342~Davis~geenadavis]] and [[Performer~P3515~Baldwin~alecbaldwin]] do their best to scare O'Hara and [[Performer~P36137~Jones~jeffreyjones]] away, but their house-haunting skills are pathetic at best. In desperation, the ghostly couple engage the services of a veteran scaremeister: a yellow-haired, snaggle-toothed, profane, flatulent "gonzo" spirit named Beetlejuice ([[Performer~P37277~Michael Keaton~michaelkeaton]]). The problem: Beetlejuice cannot be trusted-especially when he falls in love with O'Hara and [[Performer~P36137~Jones~jeffreyjones]]' gloomy, black-clad teenaged daughter [[Performer~P62446~Winona Ryder~winonaryder]]. Beetlejuice producer [[Performer~P91221~David Geffen~davidgeffen]], director [[Performer~P83666~Tim Burton~timburton]], and composer [[Performer~P88821~Danny Elfman~dannyelfman]] were also involved in an animated TV-series spin-off. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 19, 1988

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Steve LaPorte Best Makeup 1988 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ve Neill Best Makeup 1988 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Short Best Makeup 1988 Winner

Cast

Alec Baldwin
as Adam Maitland
Geena Davis
as Barbara Maitland
Michael Keaton
as Betelgeuse
Catherine O'Hara
as Delia Deetz
Jeffrey Jones
as Charles Deetz
Winona Ryder
as Lydia Deetz
Glenn Shadix
as Otho
Sylvia Sidney
as Juno
Robert Goulet
as Maxie Dean
Dick Cavett
as Bernard
Annie McEnroe
as Jane Butterfield
Simmy Bow
as Janitor
Hugo L. Stanger
as Old Bill
Mark Ettlinger
as 2nd Moving Man
Marie Cheatham
as Sarah Dean
Jack Angel
as Preacher
Rachel Mittelman
as Little Jane
Cynthia Daly
as Three-fingered Typist
Tony Cox
as Preacher
Patrice Camhi
as Receptionist
Gary Jochimsen
as Dumb Football Player
Harold Goodman
as 2nd Old Bill
Carmen Filpi
as Messenger
Duane Davis
as Dub Football Player
Maurice Page
as Ernie
Adelle Lutz
as Beryl
J. Jay Saunders
as 1st Moving Man

Crew

Tim Burton
Director
Michael McDowell
Screen Story
Michael McDowell
Screenwriter
Warren Skaaren
Screenwriter
Larry Wilson
Screenwriter
Larry Wilson
Screen Story
Michael Bender
Screenwriter
Thomas E. Ackerman
Cinematographer
Fitzroy Alexander
Songwriter
Norman Span
Songwriter
Harry Belafonte
Featured Music
Danny Elfman
Composer (Music Score)
Bob Gordon
Songwriter
Raymond Bell
Songwriter
Jane Kurson
Editor
Richard Hashimoto
Co-producer
Larry Wilson
Co-producer
Michael Bender
Co-producer
John Warnke
Set Designer
Catherine Mann
Set Designer
Aggie Guerard Rodgers
Costume Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
David Ronne
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Kuran
Special Effects
Robert Short
Special Effects
Charles Gaspar
Special Effects
Bill Scott
First Assistant Director
Fred Lerner
Stunts
Chrissy Bocchino
Choreography
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Warren Hamilton
Sound Editor
Ve Neill
Makeup
Richard L. Anderson
Supervising Sound Editor
Chuck Gaspar
Special Effects Supervisor
Robert Short
Makeup Special Effects
Steve LaPorte
Makeup
Advertisement