Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bedtime Story Details


An exercise in "black humor" bordering on the tasteless, Bedtime Story stars [[Performer~P8070~Marlon Brando~marlonbrando]] and [[Performer~P52791~David Niven~davidniven]] as a pair of womanizing confidence tricksters, operating up and down the Riviera. Pooling their talents, [[Performer~P8070~Brando~marlonbrando]] and [[Performer~P52791~Niven~davidniven]] pull off several scams, many of these requiring [[Performer~P8070~Brando~marlonbrando]] to pose as a mental or physical defective. Their current "mark" is soap heiress [[Performer~P36222~Shirley Jones~shirleyjones]], who isn't quite as gullible as she seems. The film's highlights-or low points, depending on one's point of view-feature [[Performer~P8070~Brando~marlonbrando]] pretending to be a mentally challenged man with a Napoleon complex, and a paraplegic who is "cured" by [[Performer~P36222~Jones~shirleyjones]]' love (remember that this is the same actor who so sensitively portrayed a genuine paraplegic in [[Feature~V154972~The Men~men]]). Created by the same folks who brought you such TV favorites as Green Acres and [[Feature~V119007~Beverly Hillbillies~thebeverlyhillbillies]], Bedtime Story was remade in 1988 as [[Feature~V13891~Dirty Rotten Scoundrels~dirtyrottenscoundrels]], with [[Performer~P101485~Steve Martin~stevemartin]], [[Performer~P10198~Michael Caine~michaelcaine]], and [[Performer~P31365~Glenne Headley~glenneheadly]] in the roles originally filled by [[Performer~P8070~Brando~marlonbrando]], [[Performer~P52791~Niven~davidniven]] and [[Performer~P36222~Jones~shirleyjones]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Marlon Brando
as Freddy Benson
David Niven
as Lawrence Jameson
Shirley Jones
as Janet
Dody Goodman
as Fanny Eubank
Aram Stephan
as Andre
Marie Windsor
as Mrs. Sutton
Parley Baer
as Col. Williams
Rebecca Sand
as Miss Trumble
Henry Slate
as Sattler
Norman Alden
as Dubin
Susanne Cramer
as Anna
Cynthia Lynn
as Frieda
Ilse Taurins
as Hilda
Francine York
as Gina


Ralph Levy
Stanley Shapiro
Stanley Shapiro
Paul Henning
Clifford Stine
Hans Salter
Composer (Music Score)
Alexander Golitzen
Art Director
Robert Clatworthy
Art Director