Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Battling Marshal Details

  • Runtime: 52 min.
  • Genres: Musical Western, Action, Western
  • Director:Oliver Drake

FULL SYNOPSIS

Produced in 1947 by [[Performer~P88221~Oliver Drake~oliverdrake]] and [[Performer~P101767~Walt Mattox~waltmattox]]'s Yucca Pictures Corp., the extremely low-budget Battling Marshal starred former Republic cowboy [[Performer~P11384~Sunset Carson~sunsetcarson]] in the twilight of his screen career. [[Performer~P11384~Carson~sunsetcarson]], his horse, Cactus Jr. (who received co-star billing), and sidekick [[Performer~P60639~Lee Roberts~leeroberts]] arrive in Quarzville, a town suffering under a smallpox scare. But as [[Performer~P11384~Sunset~sunsetcarson]] and friends learn, the nonexistent epidemic is the invention of crooked lawyer John Martin ([[Performer~P219716~Pat Gleason~patgleason]]) and a local mining engineer turned "doctor" ([[Performer~P187137~Richard Bartell~richardbartell]]). The villains have created the false scare in order to take over the Jeffers ranch, where they have discovered a gold vein. Aligning himself with old man Jeffers' adopted grandchildren ([[Performer~P211572~Al Terry~alterry]] and [[Performer~P67694~Pat Starling~patstarling]]), [[Performer~P11384~Sunset~sunsetcarson]] not only brings the villains to justice but also finds time to warble "A Bird in a Gilded Cage" by [[Performer~P168527~Harry von Tilzer~harryvontilzer]]. Produced in 16 mm and away from the usual Gower Gulch circles, the four Yucca [[Performer~P11384~Carson~sunsetcarson]] oaters were released between 1948 and 1950 by Astor Pictures, a sort of graveyard for the final independent B-Westerns. For all intent and purposes, Battling Marshal brought the curtain down on [[Performer~P11384~Sunset Carson~sunsetcarson]]'s screen career. Late in life, [[Performer~P11384~Carson~sunsetcarson]] co-produced and hosted a series of B-Western revivals for a South Carolina public television station. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

Crew

Oliver Drake
Director
Advertisement