Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Batman Begins Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The origins of the Caped Crusader of Gotham City are finally brought to the big screen in this new adaptation of the perennially popular comic-book series. The young Bruce Wayne ([[Performer~P404670~Gus Lewis~guslewis]]) leads a privileged life as the son of wealthy, philanthropist parents, both of whom stress their commitment to improving the lives of the citizens of crime-ridden Gotham City. After his mother and father are murdered by a mugger, however, Wayne grows into an impudent young man ([[Performer~P3538~Christian Bale~christianbale]]), full of rage and bent on retribution until encouraged by his childhood sweetheart, Rachel Dawes ([[Performer~P225994~Katie Holmes~katieholmes]]), to search for answers beyond his own personal vendettas. Wayne eventually finds discipline in the Far East under the tutelage of Henri Ducard ([[Performer~P52070~Liam Neeson~liamneeson]]), a member of the mysterious League of Shadows who guides him in the study of martial arts -- and the ways in which an ordinary man can hone his senses to an almost superhuman acuity. After seven years away from Gotham, Wayne returns, determined to bring peace and safety back to the city. With the help of his faithful manservant, Alfred Pennyworth ([[Performer~P10198~Michael Caine~michaelcaine]]), and Lucius Fox ([[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]]), a scientist at his late father's corporation, Wayne develops a secret identity as Batman, a masked fighter for justice. But when a shady psychiatrist ([[Performer~P271775~Cillian Murphy~cillianmurphy]]) joins forces with the criminal underworld, Wayne realizes that putting an end to their nefarious plans will be very difficult indeed. Batman Begins also features [[Performer~P53946~Gary Oldman~garyoldman]] as Lt. James Gordon and [[Performer~P76333~Tom Wilkinson~tomwilkinson]] as the crime boss Carmine Falcone. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 15, 2005

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Janek Sirrs Best Visual Effects 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Nathan Crowley Best Production Design 2005 Nominee
Art Directors Guild Nathan Crowley Best Art Direction - Period or Fantasy Film 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Stefan Henrix Best Sound 2005 Nominee
American Society of Cinematographers Wally Pfister Best Cinematography 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Wally Pfister Best Cinematography 2005 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Cillian Murphy Best British Supporting Actor 2005 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Hans Zimmer Best Score 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Hans Zimmer Best Original Score 2005 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Christopher Nolan Best British Director 2005 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association James Newton Howard Best Score 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association James Newton Howard Best Original Score 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Chris Corbould Best Visual Effects 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Dan Glass Best Visual Effects 2005 Nominee

Cast

Christian Bale
as Batman/Bruce Wayne
Liam Neeson
as Henri Ducard
Katie Holmes
as Rachel Dawes
Gary Oldman
as Jim Gordon
Cillian Murphy
as Dr. Jonathan Crane/Scarecrow
Tom Wilkinson
as Carmine Falcone
Rutger Hauer
as Earle
Ken Watanabe
as Ra's Al Ghul
Mark Boone, Jr.
as Flass
Linus Roache
as Thomas Wayne
Morgan Freeman
as Lucius Fox
Gus Lewis
as Bruce Wayne (age 8)
Michael Caine
as Alfred Pennyworth
Richard Brake
as Joe Chill
Sara Stewart
as Martha Wayne
Larry Holden
as D.A. Fisk

Crew

Christopher Nolan
Director
Emma Thomas
Producer
Larry Franco
Producer
Charles Roven
Producer
David S. Goyer
Screen Story
David S. Goyer
Screenwriter
Christopher Nolan
Screenwriter
Wally Pfister
Cinematographer
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Nathan Crowley
Production Designer
Peter Francis
Art Director
Paul Kirby
Art Director
Simon Lamont
Supervising Art Director
Dominic Masters
Art Director
Su Whitaker
Art Director
Cheryl A. Tkach
Associate Producer
Michael E. Uslan
Executive Producer
Benjamin Melniker
Executive Producer
Simon Wakefield
Set Decorator
Lindy Hemming
Costume Designer
Paki Smith
Set Decorator
Cliff Lanning
First Assistant Director
Lucinda Syson
Casting
John Papsidera
Casting
Lora Hirschberg
Re-Recording Mixer
Sy Hollands
Stunts Coordinator
Jim Henson's Creature Shop
Visual Effects
Janek Sirrs
Visual Effects Supervisor
Stefan Henrix
Supervising Sound Editor
Gary Rizzo
Re-Recording Mixer
Dan Glass
Visual Effects Supervisor
Chris Corbould
Special Effects Supervisor
Advertisement