Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Batman & Robin Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This was the third follow-up to [[Performer~P83666~Tim Burton~timburton]]'s [[Feature~V4278~Batman~batman]] (1989), the original revisionist look at the Gotham City legend, as well as the second in the Batman series directed by [[Performer~P110432~Joel Schumacher~joelschumacher]] and the first featuring [[Performer~P13722~George Clooney~georgeclooney]] as the Caped Crusader; it features not one but two super-villains, and a new heroine to fight crime alongside Bruce Wayne (aka Batman) and Dick Grayson (aka Robin) ([[Performer~P53411~Chris O'Donnell~chrisodonnell]]). The experiments of Dr. Victor Fries ([[Performer~P110501~Arnold Schwarzenegger~arnoldschwarzenegger]]) to preserve his late wife cryogenically have gone horribly wrong, turning him into the evil genius Mr. Freeze, who must keep his body at sub-zero temperature in order to say alive -- and he wants to put Gotham City on ice. Shy horticulturist Pamela Isley ([[Performer~P70905~Uma Thurman~umathurman]]) goes a bit wild with a Venus Fly Trap-like creation she's been working on and mutates into Poison Ivy, who wants to kill all the people on Earth so plants can take over. Can Batman and Robin stop these fiends before their plans go too far? Meanwhile, Bruce and Dick's faithful butler Alfred ([[Performer~P27964~Michael Gough~michaelgough]]) isn't feeling well, so his niece Barbara ([[Performer~P65707~Alicia Silverstone~aliciasilverstone]]) comes to pay a visit. When Barbara finds out what her uncle's employers do in their spare time, she decides she wants in on the action, and she joins the crime fighting twosome as Batgirl. [[Feature~V143325~Batman & Robin~batmanandrobin[serial]]] also features [[Performer~P73281~Jesse Ventura~jesseventura]] in a small role as a prison guard; it would be his last film role before becoming Governor of Minnesota in 1998. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 20, 1997

Cast

Arnold Schwarzenegger
as Mr. Freeze/Dr. Victor Fries
George Clooney
as Batman/Bruce Wayne
Chris O'Donnell
as Robin/Dick Grayson
Uma Thurman
as Poison Ivy/Dr. Pamela Isley
Alicia Silverstone
as Batgirl/Barbara Wilson
Michael Gough
as Alfred Pennyworth
Elle MacPherson
as Julie Madison
John Glover
as Dr. Jason Woods
Vivica A. Fox
as Ms. B. Haven
Ralph Moeller
as Arkham Asylum Guards
Dennis Keiffer
as Ice Thug
Jeff Podgurski
as Ice Thug`
Michael Bernardo
as Ice Thug
Steve Blalock
as Ice Thug
Pat Hingle
as Commissioner Gordon
Joe Sabatino
as Frosty
Nicky Katt
as Spike
Stogie Kenyatta
as Snowy Cones Thugs
Robert Powell
as Ice Thug
Peter Navy Tuiasosopo
as Observatory Guard
Eric Lloyd
as Young, Bruce Wayne
Dennis Lefevre
as Ice Thug
John Fink
as Aztec Museum Guard
Danny Costa
as Ice Thug
Jeep Swenson
as Bane
Mark Chadwick
as Ice Thug
Stephan Desjardins
as Ice Thug
Jesse Ventura
as Prison Guard
Doug Hutchison
as Golum
Alex Daniels
as Observatory Guard
Christopher Sayour
as Ice Thug
Jean-Luc Martin
as Ice Thug
Marc Glimcher
as Party Guest
Sandra Taylor
as Debutantes
Patrick Leahy
as Himself
Takis Triggelis
as Ice Thug
Harry Van Gorkum
as M.C.
Michael Paul Chan
as Observatory Scientist
Dean Cochran
as Motorcycle Gang
Don Sinnar
as Ice Thug
Mark Leahy
as Party Guest
Bruce Roberts
as Handsome Cop
Elizabeth Sanders
as Gossip Gerty
Howard Velasco
as cop
John Ingle
as Doctor
Paul Sklar
as Ice Thug
Tobias Jelinek
as Motorcycle Gang
Kimberly Scott
as Observatory Associate
Christine Mitchell
as Ice Thug
Greg Lauren
as Motorcycle Gang
Jack Betts
as Party Guest
Andy Lacombe
as Snowy Cones Thugs
Azikiwee Anderson
as Ice Thug
Uzi Gal
as Cop
Jim Palmer
as Ice Thug
Christopher Caso
as Ice Thug
Jay Luchs
as Observatory Reporter
Lucas Berman
as Tough Boy Biker
Roger Nehls
as Observatory Reporter

Crew

Joel Schumacher
Director
Peter Macgregor-Scott
Producer
Akiva Goldsman
Screenwriter
Jamie Anderson
Cinematographer
Stephen Goldblatt
Cinematographer
Danny Bramson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Elliot Goldenthal
Composer (Music Score)
Dennis Virkler
Editor
Barbara Ling
Production Designer
Geoff Hubbard
Art Director
Richard Holland
Art Director
William M. Elvin
Co-producer
Mitchell Dauterive
Associate Producer
Michael E. Uslan
Executive Producer
Benjamin Melniker
Executive Producer
James Bayliss
Set Designer
Keith P. Cunningham
Set Designer
Dorree Cooper
Set Designer
Dawn Brown-Manser
Set Designer
Ingrid Ferrin
Costume Designer
Robert Turturice
Costume Designer
Petur Hliddal
Sound/Sound Designer
Andrew Adamson
Special Effects
John Dykstra
Special Effects
William M. Elvin
First Assistant Director
Mali Finn
Casting
Peter MacDonald
Second Unit Director
Al Laverde
Key Grip
Pat E. Johnson
Stunts Coordinator
Jeff Dawn
Makeup
Advertisement