Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Barfly Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P83489~Charles Bukowski~charlesbukowski]], the talented crown prince of self-abuse, wrote the short stories upon which the surprisingly entertaining Barfly was based. The film concentrates on alcoholic writer [[Performer~P61810~Mickey Rourke~mickeyrourke]] (the [[Performer~P83489~Bukowski~charlesbukowski]] alter ego) who carries on a hate-hate relationship with bartender [[Performer~P112461~Frank Stallone~frankstallone]]. [[Performer~P61810~Rourke~mickeyrourke]] makes the acquaintance of another of society's castaways, [[Performer~P20518~Faye Dunaway~fayedunaway]], who in addition to being a souse is said to be crazy. They move in together, even though [[Performer~P20518~Dunaway~fayedunaway]] all but promises to be unfaithful for the price of a drink. [[Performer~P61810~Rourke~mickeyrourke]] has a chance to clean up his act when offered a large commission for his writings by publisher [[Performer~P39389~Alice Krige~alicekrige]]. They too end up in bed, each trying to change the other. The clarion call of the cheap wine bottle overrides [[Performer~P61810~Rourke~mickeyrourke]]'s half-hearted efforts to enter the mainstream. Watch for author [[Performer~P83489~Charles Bukowski~charlesbukowski]], as well as Fritz "Pop!" Feld and [[Performer~P14346~Vance Colvig~vancecolvig]] (who's made a career out of playing street people) in Barfly bit parts. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 16, 1987

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Faye Dunaway Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1987 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Mickey Rourke Best Actor 1987 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Robby Müller Best Cinematography 1987 Nominee

Cast

Mickey Rourke
as Henry Chinaski
Faye Dunaway
as Willa Wilcox
Alice Krige
as Tully Sorenson
Jack Nance
as Detective
J.C. Quinn
as Jim
Frank Stallone
as Eddie
Ronald G. Joseph
as Liquor Store Clerk
Gloria Le Roy
as Grandma Moses
Peter Conti
as Cop
Pearl Shear
as Helen
Zeke Manners
as Roger
Carlos Cervantes
as Cop
Michael Collins
as "Elbow Inn" Bartender
Roberta Bassin
as Lily
Rik Colitti
as Jack, The Window Washer
Fritz Feld
as Bum
Debbie Lynn Ross
as Lovebird Woman
Hal Shafer
as Mike
Albert Henderson
as Louie
Joe Unger
as Ben
Vance Colvig
as Alcoholic Man
Leonard Termo
as Harry
Wil Albert
as Carl
Sandy Martin
as Janice
Damon Hines
as Black Kid
Stacey Pickren
as Lady Manager
Pruitt Taylor Vince
as Joe
Lahmard J. Tate
as Black Kid
George Marshall Ruge
as Lovebird Man
Harry Cohn
as Rick
Sandy Rose
as Louie's Woman

Crew

Barbet Schroeder
Director
Barbet Schroeder
Producer
Fred Roos
Producer
Tom Luddy
Producer
Charles Bukowski
Book Author
Charles Bukowski
Screenwriter
Robby Müller
Cinematographer
Jack Baran
Composer (Music Score)
Eva Gardos
Editor
Bob Ziembicki
Production Designer
Jack Baran
Associate Producer
Menahem Golan
Executive Producer
Yoram Globus
Executive Producer
Lisa Dean
Set Designer
Milena Canonero
Costume Designer
Petur Hliddal
Sound/Sound Designer
Jack Baran
First Assistant Director
Pat Orseth
Casting
Myron Meisel
Artistic Advisor
Advertisement