Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Bang Bang Club Details

  • Release Date: Apr 22, 2011
  • Rated: Pervasive language, disturbing images, sexual content, some drug use and strong brutal violence
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 46 min.
  • Genres: Drama
  • Cast:Taylor Kitsch, Malin Akerman.


Four men with cameras put themselves in the middle of the action as a nation struggles to redefine itself in this drama based on a true story. In early 1990, Nelson Mandela was released from prison after the president of South Africa lifted the ban on the African National Congress, the anti-apartheid party Mandela helped found, and in 1994 he became the nation's new leader. The final years of apartheid, however, were a time of chaos, uprising, and violence, and for the press, covering it was not unlike covering a war. Greg Marinovich (Ryan Phillippe), Kevin Carter (Taylor Kitsch), Ken Oosterbroek (Frank Rautenbach), and Joao Silva (Neels Van Jaarsveld) were four photojournalists who dedicated themselves to capturing the images of the fight for freedom in South Africa, but while the men were serious about their craft, their determination had as much to do with the rush of confronting danger and the desire to impress those around them -- especially women -- as their commitment to the principles of journalism. Eventually the four photographers became minor celebrities in their own right, though the danger they courted came with a price. Also starring Malin Akerman as the photographers' editor, Robin Comley, The Bang Bang Club was the first dramatic feature from Steven Silver, who previously made a name for himself in documentaries. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 22, 2011


Taylor Kitsch
as Kevin Carter
Malin Akerman
as Robin Comley


Daniel Iron
Miroslaw Baszak
Ronald Sanders
Emelia Weavind
Production Designer
Claire Welland
Patrice Theroux
Executive Producer
Chris Ouwinga
Executive Producer
Neil Tabatznik
Executive Producer
Darryn Welch
Executive Producer
Laszlo Barna
Executive Producer
Ruy Filipe
Costume Designer
Jane Tattersall
Sound/Sound Designer
Lou Solakofski
Sound/Sound Designer
Claire Welland
Line Producer