Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Bandidas Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Latina heartthrobs [[Performer~P199082~Salma Hayek~salmahayek]] and [[Performer~P186999~Penélope Cruz~penélopecruz]] co-headline the rousing indie Western Bandidas. The brainchild of producer/screenwriter [[Performer~P81731~Luc Besson~lucbesson]] ([[Feature~V74893~La Femme Nikita~lafemmenikita]], [[Feature~V5378~The Big Blue~thebigblue]]), Bandidas marks one of only a handful of films in its genre (along with [[Feature~V131142~Bad Girls~badgirls]], [[Feature~V86848~Cattle Annie and Little Britches~cattleannieandlittlebritches]], and [[Feature~V26443~Johnny Guitar~johnnyguitar]]) to use women as its principals, and distinguishes itself further by adding hefty doses of comic relief to the Western formula. [[Performer~P199082~Hayek~salmahayek]] and [[Performer~P186999~Cruz~penélopecruz]] play Sara and Maria, respectively -- two women whose fathers (one a banker, the other a peasant farmer) are each wiped out by a nasty, vile, gun-wielding swindler named Tyler Jackson ([[Feature~V136170~Sling Blade~slingblade]] co-star and country music singer [[Performer~P78034~Dwight Yoakam~dwightyoakam]]). Jackson cuts a bloody swath across the Southwest as he reduces one bank after another to an impoverished trash heap. In revenge, these women (who sit at opposite ends of the personality spectrum) vow to beat Tyler at his own game by hitting and robbing each of the banks before their father's killer can reach them. [[Performer~P212137~Steve Zahn~stevezahn]] co-stars as the "criminal science" officer who aids the girls in their mission; [[Performer~P432225~Espen Sandberg~espensandberg]] and [[Performer~P432226~Joachim Roenning~joachimroenning]] co-direct. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:September 22, 2006

Cast

Penélope Cruz
as Maria Alvarez
Salma Hayek
as Sara Sandoval
Steve Zahn
as Quentin Cook
Dwight Yoakam
as Tyler Jackson
Sam Shepard
as Bill Buck
Denis Arndt
as Ashe
Audra Blaser
as Clarissa
Ismael Carlo
as Don Diego
Carlos Cervantes
as Pedro
Joseph D. Reitman
as Regulator

Crew

Espen Sandberg
Director
Joachim Roenning
Director
Ariel Zeitoun
Producer
Luc Besson
Producer
Robert Mark Kamen
Screenwriter
Luc Besson
Screenwriter
Thierry Arbogast
Cinematographer
Eric Serra
Composer (Music Score)
Frederic Thoraval
Editor
Hugues Tissandier
Production Designer
Patrick Pasquier
Art Director
Olivier Beriot
Costume Designer
Santiago Núñez Rojo
Sound/Sound Designer
Rene Villarreal
First Assistant Director
Carla Hool
Casting
Louis Di Giaimo
Casting
Advertisement