Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bad Men of Missouri Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Rather than play famous outlaw Cole Younger in this film, Warner Bros. contract star [[Performer~P7027~Humphrey Bogart~humphreybogart]] chose suspension. [[Performer~P59108~Ronald Reagan~ronaldreagan]] was considered, and so were [[Performer~P10165~James Cagney~jamescagney]], [[Performer~P60775~Edward G. Robinson~edwardgrobinson]], and [[Performer~P58473~George Raft~georgeraft]], but, happily, the role eventually went to the more age-appropriate [[Performer~P50575~Dennis Morgan~dennismorgan]], a former band singer. Like MGM's [[Feature~V85085~Billy the Kid~billythekid]], also from 1941, Bad Men of Missouri emerged as a complete whitewash of the title outlaws. Returning from fighting on the Confederate side in the Civil War, the Younger brothers -- Cole ([[Performer~P50575~Morgan~dennismorgan]]), Bob ([[Performer~P50808~Wayne Morris~waynemorris]]), and Jim ([[Performer~P97175~Arthur Kennedy~arthurkennedy]]) -- find their money no longer viable currency and their homestead about to be usurped by carpetbagger William Merrick ([[Performer~P36332~Victor Jory~victorjory]]). Standing up to Merrick and his chief henchman, Greg Bilson ([[Performer~P16520~Howard DaSilva~howarddasilva]]), old Hank Younger ([[Performer~P65871~Russell Simpson~russellsimpson]]) is shot dead, and, in frustration, the sons take up train and bank robbing, eventually joining the even more notorious James brothers, Jesse ([[Performer~P4660~Alan Baxter~alanbaxter]]) and Frank. Of course, the celluloid Youngers steal only from the rich to give to the displaced poor. When they are finally caught in Minnesota, the citizenry of Missouri, viewing the Youngers as local heroes, take up a petition for their immediate release. Despite the many historical inaccuracies, Bad Men of Missouri makes for exciting, fast-paced Western entertainment; quite the opposite, in fact, of MGM's staid, overly glamorous depiction of [[Feature~V85085~Billy the Kid~billythekid]]. Filmed at Sonora, CA, and cast with veterans such as [[Performer~P755~Erville Alderson~ervillealderson]], [[Performer~P47223~Sam McDaniel~sammcdaniel]] (who replaced [[Performer~P5959~Willie Best~williebest]] in the role of the Younger's devoted servant), and a very funny [[Performer~P11810~Walter Catlett~waltercatlett]], the film premiered in Harrisonville, MO, the birthplace of the Younger brothers and the town where the elder Younger had once been elected mayor. [[Performer~P77721~Jane Wyman~janewyman]] appears as the nominal heroine, the upstanding girlfriend of Jim Younger, and the film marked the screen debut of [[Performer~P21784~Faye Emerson~fayeemerson]] as Cole Younger's ill-fated fiancée. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

Dennis Morgan
as Cole Younger
Jane Wyman
as Mary Hathaway
Wayne Morris
as Bob Younger
Arthur Kennedy
as Jim Younger
Victor Jory
as William Merrick
Alan Baxter
as Jesse James
Walter Catlett
as Mr. Pettibone
Howard Da Silva
as Greg Bilson
Faye Emerson
as Martha Adams
Russell Simpson
as Hank Younger
Virginia Brissac
as Mrs. Hathaway
Erville Alderson
as Mr. Adams
Hugh Sothern
as Fred Robinson
Sam McDaniel
as Wash
Dorothy Vaughan
as Mrs. Dalton
William Gould
as Sheriff Brennan
Ann E. Todd
as Amy Younger
Roscoe Ates
as Lafe

Crew

Ray Enright
Director
Harlan Thompson
Producer
Arthur Todd
Cinematographer
Clarence Kolster
Editor
Milo Anderson
Costume Designer
Advertisement