Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Badlands Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

"He wanted to die with me and I dreamed of being lost forever in his arms." A young couple goes on a Midwest crime spree in [[Performer~P100893~Terrence Malick~terrencemalick]]'s hypnotically assured debut feature, based on the 1950s Starkweather-Fugate murders. Fancying himself a rebel like [[Performer~P18134~James Dean~jamesdean]], twentysomething Kit ([[Performer~P111083~Martin Sheen~martinsheen]]) takes off with teen baton-twirler Holly ([[Performer~P67043~Sissy Spacek~sissyspacek]]) after shooting her father ([[Performer~P53739~Warren Oates~warrenoates]]) when he tries to split the pair up. Once bounty hunters discover their riverside hiding place, Kit and Holly head toward Saskatchewan, leaving dead bodies in their wake. As the law closes in, however, Holly gives herself up -- but Kit doesn't hold it against her, as he basks in his new status as a momentary folk hero. Inaugurating the use of voice-over narration that he would continue in [[Feature~V12659~Days of Heaven~daysofheaven]] (1978) and The Thin Red Line (1998), [[Performer~P100893~Malick~terrencemalick]] juxtaposes Holly's flat readings of her flowery romance-novel diary prose with the banal and surreal details of their journey. Singularly inarticulate with each other, Kit and Holly are more intrigued by mythic celebrity gestures, as Holly peruses her fan magazines and Kit commemorates key moments before orchestrating a properly dramatic capture for himself (complete with the right hat). The sublime visuals lend a dreamlike beauty to the couple's trip even as their actions are treated casually; [[Performer~P100893~Malick~terrencemalick]] neither glamorizes Kit and Holly nor consigns them to the bloody end of their fame-fixated predecessors in [[Feature~V6614~Bonnie and Clyde~bonnieandclyde]] (1967). With the couple's opaque dialogue and Holly's fanzine dream narration, [[Performer~P100893~Malick~terrencemalick]] further denies an easy explanation for their crimes. Made for under 500,000 dollars, Badlands debuted at the 1973 New York Film Festival, along with [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]]'s [[Feature~V31981~Mean Streets~meanstreets]], and was released within months of two other outlaw-couple road movies, [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]]'s [[Feature~V47587~The Sugarland Express~thesugarlandexpress]] and [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s [[Feature~V113290~Thieves Like Us~thieveslikeus]]. Although Badlands did not make an impression at the box office, its pictorial splendor and cool yet disquieting narrative established [[Performer~P100893~Malick~terrencemalick]] as one of the most compelling artists to come out of early-'70s Hollywood. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:October 15, 1973

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Venice International Film Festival Terrence Malick Film Presented 1975 Nominee

Cast

Martin Sheen
as Kit Carruthers
Sissy Spacek
as Holly Sargis
Warren Oates
as Mr. Sargis, Father
Alan Vint
as Deputy
Ramon Bieri
as Cato
Gary Littlejohn
as Sheriff
Ben Bravo
as Gas Station Attendant
Howard Ragsdale
as Boss
John Carter
as Rich Man
Terrence Malick
as Salesman
Dona Baldwin
as Maid

Crew

Terrence Malick
Director
Terrence Malick
Producer
Terrence Malick
Screenwriter
Brian Probyn
Cinematographer
Stevan Larner
Cinematographer
Tak Fujimoto
Cinematographer
Erik Satie
Featured Music
Jack Fisk
Art Director
Ed Richardson
Art Director
Louis A. Stroller
Associate Producer
Edward R. Pressman
Executive Producer
William P. Scott
Production Manager
Advertisement