Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Back to the Future Details


High schooler Marty McFly (Michael J. Fox) doesn't have the most pleasant of lives. Browbeaten by his principal at school, Marty must also endure the acrimonious relationship between his nerdy father (Crispin Glover) and his lovely mother (Lea Thompson), who in turn suffer the bullying of middle-aged jerk Biff (Thomas F. Wilson), Marty's dad's supervisor. The one balm in Marty's life is his friendship with eccentric scientist Doc (Christopher Lloyd), who at present is working on a time machine. Accidentally zapped back into the 1950s, Marty inadvertently interferes with the budding romance of his now-teenaged parents. Our hero must now reunite his parents-to-be, lest he cease to exist in the 1980s. It won't be easy, especially with the loutish Biff, now also a teenager, complicating matters. Beyond its dazzling special effects, the best element of Back to the Future is the performance of Michael J. Fox, who finds himself in the quagmire of surviving the white-bread 1950s with a hip 1980s mindset. Back to the Future cemented the box-office bankability of both Fox and the film's director, Robert Zemeckis, who went on to helm two equally exhilarating sequels. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:July 3, 1985


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Huey Lewis Best Song 1985 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Johnny Colla Best Song 1985 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bill Varney Best Sound 1985 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Zemeckis Best Original Screenplay 1985 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bob Gale Best Original Screenplay 1985 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences William B. Kaplan Best Sound 1985 Nominee


Michael J. Fox
as Marty McFly
Christopher Lloyd
as Dr. Emmett Brown
Crispin Glover
as George McFly
Lea Thompson
as Lorraine Baines
Thomas F. Wilson
as Biff Tannen
James Tolkan
as Mr. Strickland
Claudia Wells
as Jennifer Parker
Wendie Jo Sperber
as Linda McFly
Marc McClure
as Dave McFly
George DiCenzo
as Sam Baines
J.J. Cohen
as Skinhead
Deborah Harmon
as Newscaster (uncredited)
Maia Brewton
as Sally Baines
Norman Alden
as Lou
Gary Riley
as Guy
Lisa Freeman
as Babs
Jason Hervey
as Milton Baines
George "Buck" Flower
as Bum
Will Hare
as Pa Peabody
Paul Hansen
as Pinhead
Richard L. Duran
as Terrorist
Katherine Britton
as Peabody Daughter
Robert Krantz
as 2nd Bystander
Boyd "Red" Morgan
as Cop
Billy Zane
as Match
Donald Fullilove
as Goldie Wilson
Sachi Parker
as 1st Bystander
Read Morgan
as Cop
Karen Petrasek
as Girl
Cristen Kauffman
as Betty
Casey Siemaszko
as 3-D
Elsa Raven
as Clocktower Lady
Ivy Bethune
as Ma Peabody
Courtney Gains
as Dixon
Harry Waters, Jr.
as Marvin Berry
Lee McCain
as Stella Baines
Jamie Abbott
as 2nd Scooter Kid
Jason Marin
as Sherman Peabody
Lee Brownfield
as Pinhead
Jeff O'Haco
as Terrorist Van Driver


Robert Zemeckis
Bob Gale
Neil Canton
Bob Gale
Robert Zemeckis
Dean Cundey
Huey Lewis
Alan Silvestri
Composer (Music Score)
Bones Howe
Musical Direction/Supervision
Harry Keramidas
Arthur Schmidt
Todd Hallowell
Art Director
Steven Spielberg
Executive Producer
Kathleen Kennedy
Executive Producer
Frank Marshall
Executive Producer
Joe Hubbard
Set Designer
Cameron Birnie
Set Designer
Deborah L. Scott
Costume Designer
Kevin Pike
Special Effects
Raymond Stella
Camera Operator
Brad Jeffries
Jane Feinberg
Judy Taylor
Mike Fenton
Peter Lonsdale
Assistant Properties