Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Back to the Beach Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P2922~Frankie Avalon~frankieavalon]] and [[Performer~P25351~Annette Funicello~annettefunicello]] not only starred in the delightfully "retro" Back to the Beach, but also served as executive producers. Appropriately set 25 years after such drive-in faves as [[Feature~V4413~Beach Blanket Bingo~beachblanketbingo]], the film finds [[Performer~P2922~Frankie~frankieavalon]] and [[Performer~P25351~Annette~annettefunicello]] as husband and wife, living far from the surf 'n' sand in Ohio. Heading to California to visit their daughter [[Performer~P40757~Lori Loughlin~loriloughlin]], [[Performer~P2922~Frankie~frankieavalon]] and [[Performer~P25351~Annette~annettefunicello]] are appalled to learn that she has been keeping time with punker [[Performer~P32420~Tommy Hinkley~tommyhinkley]]. In time-honored fashion, our hero and heroine set about to make the beach safe for funlovers everywhere by driving out [[Performer~P32420~Hinkley~tommyhinkley]]'s unsavory pals. Along the way, [[Performer~P2922~Frankie~frankieavalon]] nearly bollixes up his marriage by dallying with [[Performer~P68112~Connie Stevens~conniestevens]]-one of several pop-culture icons appearing in Back to the Beach, including [[Performer~P264~Don Adams~donadams]], [[Performer~P18667~Bob Denver~bobdenver]], [[Performer~P46370~Jerry Mathers~jerrymathers]], [[Performer~P19936~Tony Dow~tonydow]], [[Performer~P16628~Dick Dale & the Del-Tones~dickdale]] , [[Performer~P73131~Stevie Ray Vaughan~stevierayvaughan]], and even [[Performer~P108024~Pee-wee Herman~paulreubens]]! Back to the Beach is fun for a while, but its six-person writing team can't figure out a logical way to wind it all up. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 7, 1987

Cast

Frankie Avalon
as Annette's Husband
Annette Funicello
as Annette
Connie Stevens
as Connie
Lori Loughlin
as Sandi
Tommy Hinkley
as Michael
Paul Reubens
as Pee-Wee Herman
Demian Slade
as Bobby
John Calvin
as Troy
Joe Holland
as Zed
David Bowe
as Mountain
Don Adams
as Harbor Master
Bob Denver
as Bartender (uncredited)
Alan Hale, Jr.
as Bartender's Buddy (uncredited)
Jerry Mathers
as Judge #2
Dick Dale
Fishbone
Thomas David Parker
as Salesman
Geof Brewer
as Surfers & Punks
Laura Urstein
as Robin
Linda Carol
as Bridgette
Edward Byrnes
as Valet
Noon Orsatti
as Surfers & Punks
Alan Barry
as Salesman
Denise Chamian
Pat Banta
as Surfers & Punks
Eddie Vail
as Surf Dude
Rodney Bingenheimer
as Himself
Jane Jenkins
Janet Hirshenson
Barbara Billingsley
as Announcer
Hartley Silver
as Fl????man
Todd Bryant
as Webby
Rick Avery
as Surfers & Punks
O.J. Simpson
as Uncredited

Crew

Lyndall Hobbs
Director
Frankie Avalon
Producer
Annette Funicello
Producer
Frank Mancuso, Jr.
Producer
James Komack
Screenwriter
Bill L. Norton
Screenwriter
Peter Krikes
Screenwriter
Steve Meerson
Screenwriter
Bruce Kirschbaum
Screen Story
Bruce Surtees
Cinematographer
Steve Dorff
Composer (Music Score)
David Finfer
Editor
Michael Helmy
Production Designer
Annette Funicello
Executive Producer
Frankie Avalon
Executive Producer
Marlene Stewart
Costume Designer
Jamie Anderson
Camera Operator
Lori Eastside
Choreography
Denise Chamian
Casting
Marty Hornstein
Production Manager
Hallie D'Amore
Makeup
Bob Boykin
Musical Performer
Advertisement