Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Bachelor Mother Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P61099~Ginger Rogers~gingerrogers]] slipped off her dancing shoes to play one of her best comic roles as Polly Parish, a salesgirl at a large department store. Single and with no steady beau, Polly leads a quiet life until she discovers a baby left at her doorstep. While puzzled by this development, Polly feels for the child and decides to adopt the baby. However, most of her co-workers raise their eyebrows at Polly's new status as a single mother, believing that she's actually the mother. The owner of the store where Polly works, J.B. Merlin ([[Performer~P13835~Charles Coburn~charlescoburn]]), is taken aback, and his son David ([[Performer~P52791~David Niven~davidniven]]), who has a reputation as a ladies' man, is dispatched to lead Polly back to the straight-and-narrow. [[Feature~V84239~Bachelor Mother~bachelormother]] was remade in 1956 as [[Feature~V7557~Bundle of Joy~bundleofjoy]], a vehicle for then-married [[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]] and [[Performer~P23636~Eddie Fisher~eddiefisher]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 30, 1939

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Felix Jackson Best Original Story 1939 Nominee

Cast

Ginger Rogers
as Polly Parrish
David Niven
as David Merlin
Charles Coburn
as J.B. Merlin
Frank Albertson
as Freddie Miller
E.E. Clive
as Butler
Ferike Boros
as Mrs. Weiss
Ernest Truex
as Investigator
Leonard Penn
as Jerome Weiss
Paul Stanton
as Hargraves
Frank M. Thomas
as Doctor
Edna Holland
as Matron
June Wilkins
as Louise King
Dorothy Adams
Horace McMahon
Edythe Elliott
Hugh Prosser
Florence Lake
as Woman in Park
Leona Roberts
as Old Lady
Reed Hadley
as Dance Partner
Hal K. Dawson
Chester Clute
as Man in Park
Charles Halton
Irving Bacon
as Clerk
Dennie Moore
as Mary
Barbara Pepper
as Dance-Hall Hostess
Murray Alper
as Bouncer
Nestor Paiva

Crew

Garson Kanin
Director
Buddy G. DeSylva
Producer
Norman Krasna
Screenwriter
Felix Jackson
Screenwriter
Robert de Grasse
Cinematographer
Roy Webb
Composer (Music Score)
Robert Wise
Editor
Henry Berman
Editor
Van Nest Polglase
Production Designer
Carroll Clark
Art Director
Pandro S. Berman
Executive Producer
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Irene
Costume Designer
Vernon Walker
Special Effects
Edward Killy
First Assistant Director
Mel Burns
Makeup
Advertisement