Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Babes in Toyland Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This second film adaptation of the [[Performer~P94108~Victor Herbert~victorherbert]] operetta Babes in Toyland was producer [[Performer~P87871~Walt Disney~waltdisney]]'s Christmas offering for 1961. The 1903 [[Performer~P94108~Herbert~victorherbert]] original had very little in the way of a plot, so screenwriters [[Performer~P108311~Joe Rinaldi~joerinaldi]], [[Performer~P93767~Lowell S. Hawley~lowellshawley]], and [[Performer~P97407~Ward Kimball~wardkimball]] lifted elements from the 1934 filmization of [[Feature~V50634~Toyland~thetoy]], which starred [[Performer~P98871~Laurel~stanlaurel]] and [[Performer~P30384~Hardy~oliverhardy]]. [[Performer~P25351~Annette Funicello~annettefunicello]] plays Mary Contrary, about to wed Tom Piper (Tommy Sands) in the heart of Mother Goose Village. The villainous Barnaby ([[Performer~P7128~Ray Bolger~raybolger]]), who covets Mary for himself, orders his bumbling henchmen Gonzorgo ([[Performer~P10357~Henry Calvin~henrycalvin]]) and Roderigo ([[Performer~P65078~Gene Sheldon~genesheldon]]) to do away with Tom. Hoping to turn a profit, Gonzorgo and Roderigo sell Tom to a band of gypsies, enabling Tom to make a surprise return-in old-lady drag to rescue Mary from Barnaby's clutches. Later, Mary's younger siblings (including Disney regular [[Performer~P14947~Moochie Corcoran~kevincorcoran]]) wander into the Forest of No Return, compelling Tom and Mary to go after them. Everyone winds up in Toyland, where they try to help the Toymaker ([[Performer~P77743~Ed Wynn~edwynn]]) and his invention-happy assistant Grumio ([[Performer~P38495~Tommy Kirk~tommykirk]]) meet their quota for Santa Claus despite the continued meddlings of Barnaby. Keep an eye peeled for 11-year-old [[Performer~P35626~Ann Jillian~annjillian]], making her screen debut as Bo Peep. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Bruns Best Musical Score 1961 Nominee

Cast

Ray Bolger
as Barnaby
Annette Funicello
as Mary Contrary
Ed Wynn
as Toymaker
Tommy Kirk
as Grumio
Kevin Corcoran
as Boy Blue
Gene Sheldon
as Roderigo
Ann Jillian
as Bo Peep
Brian Corcoran
as Willie Winkie
Jerry Glenn
as Simple Simon
John Perri
as Jack-be-Nimble
David Pinson
as Bobby Shaftoe
Bryan Russell
as The Little Boy

Crew

Jack Donohue
Director
Walt Disney
Producer
Joe Rinaldi
Screenwriter
Ward Kimball
Screenwriter
Edward Colman
Cinematographer
George Bruns
Composer (Music Score)
Mel Leven
Songwriter
Robert Stafford
Editor
Advertisement