Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Audrey Rose Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Audrey Rose is a "thinking man's" horror film, which in a way is unfortunate, since it tended to be ignored amidst the many spell-it-all-out scarefests of the late '70s. [[Performer~P46247~Marsha Mason~marshamason]] and [[Performer~P4872~John Beck~johnbeck]] play Janice and Bill Templeton, a happily married couple, the parents of well-adjusted preteen Ivy ([[Performer~P69383~Susan Swift~susanswift]]). Their family security is disrupted by the arrival of a mysterious stranger, Elliot Hoover ([[Performer~P94812~Anthony Hopkins~anthonyhopkins]]). At first mistaken for a potential child molester, Hoover explains that his obsessive interest in young Ivy is actually paternal. It is Hoover's contention that their daughter is the reincarnation of his own child, who died in a horrible accident. This information is dismissed out of hand-and then strange things begin happening. Directed by [[Performer~P117119~Robert Wise~robertwise]] (who had previously helmed the psychological thriller [[Feature~V21684~The Haunting~thehaunting]]), Audrey Rose was adapted by co-producer Frank de Felitta from his own novel. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Marsha Mason
as Janice Templeton
Anthony Hopkins
as Elliot Hoover
John Beck
as Bill Templeton
Susan Swift
as Ivy Templeton
Norman Lloyd
as Dr. Steven Lipscomb
John Hillerman
as Scott Velie
Philip Sterling
as Judge Langley
Ivy Jones
as Mary Lou Sides
Aly Wassil
as Maharishi Gupta Pradesh
Mary Jackson
as Mother Veronica
David Fresco
as Dominick
Stephen Pearlman
as Russ Rothman
Elizabeth Farley
as Carole Rothman
Pat Corley
as Dr. Webster
Tony Brande
as Detective Fallon
Stanley Brock
as Cashier in Store
Karen Anders
as Maria
Ruth Manning
as Customer in Store
Robert Walden
as Brick Mack

Crew

Robert Wise
Director
Robert Wise
Producer
Joe Wizan
Producer
Frank de Felitta
Producer
Frank de Felitta
Book Author
Frank de Felitta
Screenwriter
Victor J. Kemper
Cinematographer
Carl Kress
Editor
Harry Horner
Production Designer
Jerry Wunderlich
Set Designer
Shirley Strahm
Costume Designer
Sheldon Levine
Costume Designer
Aaron Rochin
Sound/Sound Designer
Art Levinson
First Assistant Director
Advertisement