Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Athena Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Health faddist Mulvain ([[Performer~P10266~Louis Calhern~louiscalhern]]) and his astrology-minded wife Salome ([[Performer~P73031~Norma Varden~normavarden]]) hold court over their seven musical-prodigy daughters. Each girl is named after a mythical Greek: Athena ([[Performer~P57520~Jane Powell~janepowell]]), Minerva ([[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]]), Niobe ([[Performer~P26791~Virginia Gibson~virginiagibson]]), Aphrodite (Nancy Kligas), Medea ([[Performer~P23602~Jane Fischer~janefischer]]), Calliope ([[Performer~P67709~Dolores Starr~doloresstarr]]) and Ceres ([[Performer~P61080~Cecile Rogers~cecilerogers]]). They also run around dressed in skimpy miniskirts, for those of you not interested in mythology. Athena falls in love with lawyer Adam Shaw (Edmund Purdom) and Minerva is ga-ga over crooner Johnny Nyle ([[Performer~P16766~Vic Damone~vicdamone]]), neither of whom come up to Mulvain's notions of mental and physical perfection. A lesser product from the [[Performer~P105739~Joe Pasternak~joepasternak]] musical mill, Athena is unremarkable save for an early appearance by future [[Feature~V156908~Hercules~hercules]] star [[Performer~P59366~Steve Reeves~stevereeves]] and a nicely bitchy performance by the usually resistable [[Performer~P13007~Linda Christian~lindachristian]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Jane Powell
as Athena Mulvain
Debbie Reynolds
as Minerva Mulvain
Virginia Gibson
as Niobe Mulvain
Nancy Kilgas
as Aphrodite Mulvain
Dolores Starr
as Calliope Mulvain
Jane Fischer
as Medea Mulvain
Cecile Rogers
as Ceres Mulvain
Edmund Purdom
as Adam Calhorn Shaw
Vic Damone
as Johnny Nyle
Louis Calhern
as Grandpa Ulysses Mulvain
Evelyn Varden
as Grandma Salome Mulvain
Linda Christian
as Beth Hallson
Ray Collins
as Mr. Tremaine
Carl Benton Reid
as Mr. Griswalde
Howard Wendell
as Mr. Grenville
Steve Reeves
as Ed Perkins
Kathleen Freeman
as Miss Seely

Crew

Richard Thorpe
Director
Joe Pasternak
Producer
Leonard Spigelgass
Screenwriter
William Ludwig
Screenwriter
Robert Planck
Cinematographer
George Stoll
Composer (Music Score)
George Stoll
Musical Direction/Supervision
Gene Ruggiero
Editor
Helen Rose
Costume Designer
Walter Plunkett
Costume Designer
Valerie Bettis
Choreography
Advertisement