Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Shot in the Dark Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A murder has been committed at the palatial Parisian residence of Benjamin Ballon ([[Performer~P206637~George Sanders~georgesanders]]). All the evidence points to sexy, wide-eyed housemaid Maria Gambrelli ([[Performer~P66862~Elke Sommer~elkesommer]]). Police inspector Dreyfuss ([[Performer~P43011~Herbert Lom~herbertlom]]) is prepared to make an arrest -- and then the gloriously, monumentally inept Inspector Clouseau ([[Performer~P64447~Peter Sellers~petersellers]]) arrives on the scene. Clouseau may have difficulty getting through the day without falling into ponds, knocking people cold with opened doors, and pocketing flaming cigarette lighters, but his instincts are right on target when he decides that Mme. Gambrelli is being framed by someone else in the Ballon household. Even as the murder victims pile up, Clouseau is determined to prove Mme. Gambrelli's innocence. As he cuts a bumbling, destructive swath through Paris, Clouseau drives Dreyfuss literally insane. This fact leads to the literally explosive climax, and to the ultimate vindication of Mme. Gambrelli. While we first met Inspector Clouseau in The Pink Panther, Shot in the Dark is the film that truly established the Clouseau mythos: the festive clumsiness, the convoluted dialogue ("You shot him in a rit of fealous jage!"), the Fractured French ("A beump on zee head!"), the twitching lunacy of poor Inspector Dreyfuss, the unexpected "judo lessons" of Clouseau's houseboy Kato ([[Performer~P39695~Burt Kwouk~burtkwouk]]), and of course the hilariously macabre jokes involving dead or seriously injured bystanders. You'd never know it, but A Shot in the Dark was inspired by a standard three-act stage comedy by [[Performer~P98303~Harry Kurnitz~harrykurnitz]], which in turn was adapted from the French play [[Feature~V142920~L'Idiote~irrendeseelen]] by [[Performer~P78983~Marcel Achard~marcelachard]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 23, 1964

Cast

Peter Sellers
as Inspector Jacques Clouseau
Elke Sommer
as Maria Gambrelli
Herbert Lom
as Chief Inspector Charles Dreyfus
George Sanders
as Benjamin Ballon
Graham Stark
as Hercule Lajoy
Tracy Reed
as Dominique Ballon
Andre Maranne
as Francois
Douglas Wilmer
as Henri LaFarge
Vanda Godsell
as Mme. Lafarge
Maurice Kaufmann
as Pierre
Ann Lynn
as Dudu
Moira Redmond
as Simone
Martin Benson
as Maurice
Burt Kwouk
as Kato
Reginald Beckwith
as Receptionist at Camp
John Herrington
as Doctor
Jack Melford
as Psychoanalyst
Andre Charisse
as Game Warden
Tutte Lemkow
as Kazak Dancer
Victor Baring
as Taxi Driver
Bryan Forbes
as Turk Thrust
Victor Beaumont
as Gendarme

Crew

Blake Edwards
Director
Blake Edwards
Producer
Blake Edwards
Screenwriter
Harry Kurnitz
Play Author
William Peter Blatty
Screenwriter
Christopher G. Challis
Cinematographer
Henry Mancini
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Mancini
Songwriter
Ralph Winters
Editor
Bert Bates
Editor
Margaret Furse
Costume Designer
Don Lusher
Musical Performer
Advertisement