Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Around the Fire Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A teenager rebelling against his father falls in with a bunch of hippies in this coming-of-age drama. Simon ([[Performer~P197731~Devon Sawa~devonsawa]]) is a high school student who isn't sure what he wants to do with his life. After the death of his mother, Simon's problems with his father Matt ([[Performer~P66620~Bill Smitrovich~billsmitrovich]]) escalate, especially after Matt marries a woman he suspects was involved with his father before his mother's death. Matt sends Simon away to an upscale boarding school, where he doesn't fit in with the sports-obsessed and career-minded students. Simon does make friends with a fellow campus misfit, Andrew ([[Performer~P200399~Eric Mabius~ericmabius]]), who one weekend invites Simon to see a concert by a popular neo-hippie jam band. Simon is fascinated by the nomadic fans who follow the band on the road, and he meets Jennifer ([[Performer~P150503~Tara Reid~tarareid]]), a beautiful girl who sells veggie stir-fry in the parking lot before shows. Soon Simon has dropped out of school to hit the road with Jennifer; however, while Andrew, Jennifer, and most of their friends are able to handle casual drug use, Simon's discovery of marijuana and LSD sends him down a path into dangerous abuse, and before long, Matt puts Simon into rehab against his will. Around the Fire features an original score by [[Performer~P236249~B.C. Smith~bcsmith]], performed by jazz guitarist [[Performer~P268675~Bill Frisell~billfrisell]]; songs by [[Performer~P28290~The Grateful Dead~thegratefuldead]], The Meters, [[Performer~P282852~Phish~phish]], and [[Performer~P101330~Bob Marley and the Wailers~bobmarley]] also appear on the soundtrack. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1900
Advertisement