Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Room For Romeo Brass Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A group of outsiders and misfits find each other -- with mixed results -- in this comic drama. Romeo ([[Performer~P271578~Andrew Shim~andrewshim]]) and Gavin ([[Performer~P271579~Ben Marshall~benmarshall]]) are neighbors in a working-class neighborhood in Nottingham. Romeo is a short, stocky, but tough black kid who's about 13; he lives with his no-nonsense mother Carol ([[Performer~P271583~Ladene Hall~ladenehall]]) and older sister Ladine ([[Performer~P271582~Vicky McClure~vickymcclure]]) after the departure of abusive husband and father Joe ([[Performer~P140098~Frank Harper~frankharper]]). Gavin is the same age, but he is taller, thinner, and walks with a bit of a limp; he's an only child who lives with his overprotective mom ([[Performer~P271581~Julia Ford~juliaford]]) and weak-willed father ([[Performer~P140620~James Higgins~jameshiggins]]). The boys make friends with a strange local character named Morell ([[Performer~P271580~Paddy Considine~paddyconsidine]]), who helps them in a fight with other boys and has an eye for Ladine. After Gavin plays a prank on Morell, he flies into a rage and cuts all ties with Gavin. When Romeo, however, finds that Morell has nowhere to stay, he offers him a room in his house, partly for friendship and partly in hopes it will keep his father away. The more Romeo hangs out with Morell, the less he sees his old friend Gavin (who is recuperating from surgery on his leg), but when Ladine loses interest in Morell, he becomes increasingly unstable until finally he finally erupts in violence. [[Performer~P33185~Bob Hoskins~bobhoskins]] makes a cameo appearance as Gavin's tutor, while director [[Performer~P213819~Shane Meadows~shanemeadows]] plays a fish and chips salesman. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1900

Cast

Andrew Shim
as Romeo Brass
Paddy Considine
as Morell
Frank Harper
as Joe Brass
Julia Ford
as Sandra Woolley
Vicky McClure
as Ladine Brass
Ladene Hall
as Carol Brass
Bob Hoskins
as Home Tutor

Crew

Shane Meadows
Director
Charles Pattinson
Producer
George Faber
Producer
Shane Meadows
Screenwriter
Paul Fraser
Screenwriter
Ashley Rowe
Cinematographer
Nick Hemming
Composer (Music Score)
Bob Last
Musical Direction/Supervision
Paul Tothill
Editor
Crispian Sallis
Production Designer
Andras Hamori
Executive Producer
David M. Thompson
Executive Producer
Robin Fraser-Paye
Costume Designer
Paul Hamblin
Sound/Sound Designer
Colin Nicolson
Sound/Sound Designer
Sean Guest
First Assistant Director
Abi Cohen
Casting
Ronaldo Vasconcellos
Line Producer
Advertisement

Other movies like this