Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Armageddon Details


Michael Bay (The Rock) directed this science fiction action thriller in the When Worlds Collide tradition. After astronomy students discover a comet-asteroid collision, an asteroid fragment "the size of the Super Dome" threatens. It's destroyed by a secret USA defense in space, but a large chunk veers off toward Singapore. With another asteroid "the size of Texas" en route, a plan is devised to send oil drillers to land on the asteroid and drop a nuclear device down a 1000-foot shaft, a scheme calculated to crack the asteroid into two halves, saving Earth. NASA begins a crash program to train beer-besotted oil roughnecks for the mission. During a stopover to refuel at the Mir Station, the space station is accidentally destroyed, so a Russian cosmonaut also joins the team. Produced by Bay, Jerry Bruckheimer (Con Air), and [[Performer~P95228~Gale Anne Hurd~galeannehurd]] (The Relic, The Abyss). ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:July 1, 1998


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Patrick McClung Best Visual Effects 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Watters II Best Sound Effects Editing 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Hoover Best Visual Effects 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Keith A. Wester Best Sound 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Kevin O'Connell Best Sound 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Greg P. Russell Best Sound 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Frazier Best Visual Effects 1998 Nominee


Bruce Willis
as Harry S. Stamper
Billy Bob Thornton
as Dan Truman
Liv Tyler
as Grace Stamper
Ben Affleck
as A.J. Frost
Will Patton
as Charles (Chick) Chapple
Peter Stormare
as Lev Andropov
Keith David
as Gen. Kimsey
Steve Buscemi
as Rockhound
Owen Wilson
as Oscar Choi
William Fichtner
as Col. William Sharp
Jessica Steen
as Co-Pilot Jennifer Watts
Jason Isaacs
as Ronald Quincy
Ken Campbell
as Max Lennert
Grayson McCouch
as Gruber
Clark Heathcliffe Brolly
as Freddy Noonan
Marshall Teague
as Colonel Davis
Chris Ellis
as Walter Clark
Eddie Griffin
as Little Guy
Michael Clarke Duncan
as Jayotis (Bear) Kurleenbear
John Mahon
as Karl
Grace Zabriskie
as Dottie
Udo Kier
as Psychologist
Seiko Matsuda
as Asian Tourist (Female)
Lawrence Tierney
as Hollis Vernon (Grap) Stamper
Charlton Heston
as Narrator
Ellen Cleghorne
as Helga (the Nurse)
Anthony Guidera
as Tucker, Shuttle Independence Co-Pilot
Judith Hoag
as Denise


Michael Bay
Jerry Bruckheimer
Michael Bay
Gale Anne Hurd
J.J. Abrams
Shane Salerno
Jonathan Hensleigh
Jonathan Hensleigh
Screen Story
Robert Roy Pool
Screen Story
Tony Gilroy
John Schwartzman
Trevor Rabin
Composer (Music Score)
Glen Scantlebury
Chris Lebenzon
Mark Goldblatt
Lawrence Hubbs
Art Director
Bruton Jones
Art Director
Geoff Hubbard
Supervising Art Director
Barry H. Waldman
Associate Producer
Pat Sandston
Associate Producer
Chad Oman
Executive Producer
Jonathan Hensleigh
Executive Producer
Jim Van Wyck
Executive Producer
Gary R. Speckman
Set Designer
Patricia Klawonn
Set Designer
George R. Lee
Set Designer
John P. Bruce
Set Designer
Domenic Silvestri
Set Designer
Mindi Toback
Set Designer
Daniel R. Jennings
Set Designer
Bill Taliaferro
Set Designer
Kevin Ishioka
Set Designer
Magali Guidasci
Costume Designer
Michael Kaplan
Costume Designer
Keith A. Wester
Sound/Sound Designer
K.C. Hodenfield
First Assistant Director
Charlie Picerni
Bonnie Timmermann
Richard Hoover
Special Effects Supervisor
Patrick McClung
Special Effects Supervisor