Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Prairie Home Companion Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Acclaimed filmmaker [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]] ([[Feature~V122494~Short Cuts~shortcuts]], [[Feature~V34469~Nashville~nashville]]) brings National Public Radio stalwart [[Performer~P37371~Garrison Keillor~garrisonkeillor]]'s long-running radio program to vivid life on the big screen in a intricately woven backstage fable centering on the final performance of a fictionalized version of his variety show. As if the result of some strange mass-media fluke, the popular radio program A Prairie Home Companion somehow managed to survive the television age to entertain its audience every Saturday night from the stage of the historic Fitzgerald Theater in St. Paul, MN. Week after week, hangdog host [[Performer~P37371~Garrison Keillor~garrisonkeillor]] serves as unflappable emcee to an amiable hodgepodge of radio-friendly acts that include the likes of popular country duo Yolanda and Rhonda Johnson ([[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]] and [[Performer~P114336~Lily Tomlin~lilytomlin]]) and singing cowboys the Old Trailhands ([[Performer~P30548~Woody Harrelson~woodyharrelson]] and [[Performer~P59476~John C. Reilly~johncreilly]]). This is one show where the under-the-line antics are nearly as entertaining as the program itself, though, and in between the efforts of down-on-his-luck private dick and backstage doorkeeper Guy Noir ([[Performer~P38699~Kevin Kline~kevinkline]]) to discover the true identity of a mysterious blonde ([[Performer~P44539~Virginia Madsen~virginiamadsen]]) and aspiring teen singer Lola ([[Performer~P241579~Lindsay Lohan~lindsaylohan]]) to find her true voice before a live audience, there's still plenty of fun and mystery to be had at the old Fitzgerald before the final curtain falls on A Prairie Home Companion. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:June 9, 2006

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Satellite Awards Lily Tomlin Best Supporting Actress 2006 Nominee
National Society of Film Critics Meryl Streep Best Supporting Actress 2006 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Robert Altman Best Director 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Garrison Keillor Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Garrison Keillor Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee

Cast

Garrison Keillor
as Garrison Keillor
Meryl Streep
as Yolanda Johnson
Lily Tomlin
as Rhonda Johnson
Kevin Kline
as Guy Noir
Lindsay Lohan
as Lola Johnson
John C. Reilly
as Lefty
Woody Harrelson
as Dusty
Virginia Madsen
as Asphodel
Maya Rudolph
as Molly
Tommy Lee Jones
as The Axeman
Tim Russell
as Stage Manager
Susan Scott
as Makeup Lady
L.Q. Jones
as Chuck Akers
Marylouise Burke
as Lunch Lady

Crew

Robert Altman
Director
Robert Altman
Producer
Tony Judge
Producer
Joshua Astrachan
Producer
Wren Arthur
Producer
David Levy
Producer
Garrison Keillor
Screen Story
Garrison Keillor
Screenwriter
Ken LaZebnik
Screen Story
Edward Lachman
Cinematographer
Richard Dworsky
Musical Arrangement
Jacob Craycroft
Editor
Dina Goldman
Production Designer
Jeff Schoen
Art Director
Lowell Dubrinsky
Associate Producer
George Sheanshang
Executive Producer
William Pohlad
Executive Producer
Fisher Stevens
Executive Producer
John Penotti
Executive Producer
Tora Peterson
Set Decorator
Catherine Marie Thomas
Costume Designer
Drew Kunin
Sound/Sound Designer
Vebe Borge
First Assistant Director
Pam Dixon
Casting
John H. Stout
Co-Executive Producer
Patricia Payne
Co-Executive Producer
Eliza Paley
Supervising Sound Editor
Martin Czembor
Re-Recording Mixer
Gerard L. Cafesjian
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement