Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Après la Vie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

After Life is the third film in [[Performer~P5236~Lucas Belvaux~lucasbelvaux]]'s ambitious [[Feature~V288639~Trilogy~latrilogie[filmseries]]], following [[Feature~V273379~On the Run~cavale]], a thriller, and [[Feature~V273380~An Amazing Couple~uncoupleépatant]], a romantic comedy. After Life features the same characters as the other two films and happens over the same time period, but it's a melodrama, and the focus is on Pascal ([[Performer~P226194~Gilbert Melki~gilbertmelki]]), a cop, and his wife, Agnes ([[Performer~P6637~Dominique Blanc~dominiqueblanc]]), a teacher, who is also a morphine addict. Agnes depends on Pascal to supply her with morphine, and he in turn has an arrangement to procure the drug from a nefarious local businessman, Jaquillat ([[Performer~P340196~Patrick Descamps~patrickdescamps]]). When a violent radical leftist, Bruno ([[Performer~P5236~Belvaux~lucasbelvaux]]), escapes from prison and kills an associate of Jaquillat's, Jaquillat threatens to withhold Pascal's morphine supply until Bruno is dead. As his wife's mental and physical health deteriorates, Pascal feels compelled to subvert his moral qualms about turning the criminal over. His investigation leads him to detain Jeanne ([[Performer~P138166~Catherine Frot~catherinefrot]]), a co-worker of Agnes' with past ties to Bruno. Cécile ([[Performer~P51588~Ornella Muti~ornellamuti]]), another of Agnes' co-workers, begins to suspect that her husband, Alain ([[Performer~P200505~François Morel~françoismorel]]), is having an affair, and asks Pascal to look into it. Pascal finds his interest in the case is more than professional when he begins to develop feelings for Cécile. Meanwhile, Agnes, feeling neglected and desperate, goes out into the street to try to find her fix. She ends up running into Bruno, and the two forge an unlikely alliance. [[Performer~P5236~Belvaux~lucasbelvaux]]'s [[Feature~V288639~Trilogy~latrilogie[filmseries]]] was shown at the 2003 Tribeca Film Festival. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:February 13, 2004

Cast

Ornella Muti
as Cecile Costes
François Morel
as Alain Costes
Dominique Blanc
as Agnes Manise
Gilbert Melki
as Pascal Manise
Lucas Belvaux
as Bruno Le Roux (aka Pierre)
Catherine Frot
as Jeanne
Patrick Descamps
as Jaquillat
Valérie Mairesse
as Claire
Raphaële Godin
as Louise
Patrick Depeyra
as Vincent
Pierre Gérard
as Olivier
Alexis Tomassian
as Banane
Jean-Baptiste Montagut
as Henri
Bernard Mazzinghi
as Georges Colinet
Olivier Darimont
as Francis
Christine Henkart
as Mme. Guiot

Crew

Lucas Belvaux
Director
Patrick Sobelman
Producer
Lucas Belvaux
Screenwriter
Pierre Milon
Cinematographer
Riccardo del Fra
Composer (Music Score)
Danielle Anezin
Editor
Frederique Belvaux
Production Designer
Diana Elbaum
Executive Producer
Cecile Cotten
Costume Designer
Christian Monheim
Sound/Sound Designer
Yvon Rouve
First Assistant Director
Advertisement