Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

A Perfect Murder Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A Perfect Murder is based on [[Performer~P169668~Frederick Knott~frederickknott]]'s play Dial M for Murder, filmed by [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] in 1954. Married to commodities trader Stephen Taylor ([[Performer~P88134~Michael Douglas~michaeldouglas]]), Emily Bradford ([[Performer~P54871~Gwyneth Paltrow~gwynethpaltrow]]) is romantically involved with artist David Shaw ([[Performer~P50903~Viggo Mortensen~viggomortensen]]). Aware of this affair, Stephen researches David's past, visits his loft studio, and informs David that he knows about his aliases, jail sentences, and various cons and scams directed at rich women. Then Stephen offers David $500,000 to murder Emily, and David agrees. The plan is calculated to make the murder look like an accident, but events soon go on an unscheduled course. Enter Detective Mohamed Karaman ([[Performer~P68921~David Suchet~davidsuchet]]). [[Performer~P169668~Knott~frederickknott]]'s original play opened June 1952 in London, followed by a New York run that began October 1952. Several books and sources describe how [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]]'s film was made in 3-D but neglect to mention that, despite trade screenings in 3-D, [[Feature~V13590~Dial M for Murder~dialmformurder]] was originally released in 1954 with ordinary, flat 2-D prints. It was finally shown to audiences in 3-D during the mid-'80s. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:June 5, 1998

Cast

Michael Douglas
as Steven Taylor
Gwyneth Paltrow
as Emily Bradford
Viggo Mortensen
as David Shaw
David Suchet
as Det. Mohamed Karaman
Sarita Choudhury
as Raquel Martinez
Constance Towers
as Sandra Bradford
Michael P. Moran
as Det. Bobby Fain
Novella Nelson
as Ambassador Alice Wills

Crew

Andrew Davis
Director
Anne Kopelson
Producer
Peter Macgregor-Scott
Producer
Arnold Kopelson
Producer
Christopher Mankiewicz
Producer
Patrick Smith Kelly
Screenwriter
Dariusz Wolski
Cinematographer
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Dov Hoenig
Editor
Dennis Virkler
Editor
Philip Rosenberg
Production Designer
Patricia Woodbridge
Art Director
Mitchell Dauterive
Co-producer
Nana Greenwald
Co-producer
Lowell D. Blank
Associate Producer
Lisa Reardon
Associate Producer
Teresa Tucker-Davies
Associate Producer
Stephen Brown
Executive Producer
Ellen Mirojnick
Costume Designer
Debra Schutt
Set Decorator
Tom Nelson
Sound/Sound Designer
Henry Bronchtein
First Assistant Director
Amanda Mackey-Johnson
Casting
Cathy Sandrich
Casting
Advertisement