Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Another Happy Day Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A wedding brings together one very dysfunctional family in this dark comedy-drama. Lynn ([[Performer~P3957~Ellen Barkin~ellenbarkin]]) was married to Paul ([[Performer~P195520~Thomas Haden Church~thomashadenchurch]]), but they split up on bad terms, and Lynn took custody of their daughter Alice ([[Performer~P322134~Kate Bosworth~katebosworth]]) while Paul got their son Dylan ([[Performer~P470410~Michael Nardelli~michaelnardelli]]). Years later, Lynn attends Dylan's wedding at Paul's estate, with her younger sons Elliott ([[Performer~P587044~Ezra Miller~ezramiller]]) and Ben ([[Performer~P658206~Daniel Yelsky~danielyelsky]]) in tow; Elliott is a chronically depressed drug addict and Ben prefers to look at life through a camera than confront the world head on. Meanwhile, Alice deals with her anxieties through cutting, Dylan hasn't spoken to Lynn in years, Lynn is fearful of Paul and his wife Patty ([[Performer~P103370~Demi Moore~demimoore]]), Lynn's mother ([[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]]) blames her daughter for her family's many troubles, and her father ([[Performer~P37705~George Kennedy~georgekennedy]]) is in poor health and hardly cares what's happening around him. To the surprise of no one, all this has left Lynn an emotional wreck, and she's not sure just how she's going to get through the day. Another Happy Day was the first feature film from writer and director [[Performer~P42123~Sam Levinson~samlevinson]], and received its world premiere at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 18, 2011

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Sundance Film Festival Sam Levinson Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award 2011 Winner

Crew

Sam Levinson
Director
Todd Traina
Producer
Ellen Barkin
Producer
Michael Nardelli
Producer
Salli Newman
Producer
Celine Rattray
Producer
Sam Levinson
Screenwriter
Ivan Strasburg
Cinematographer
Ray Hubley
Editor
Michael Grasley
Production Designer
Cindy Tolan
Co-producer
Peter Pastorelli
Co-producer
Sean McEwen
Executive Producer
Elana Krausz
Executive Producer
Stacey Battat
Costume Designer
Selina Van Den Brink
Set Decorator
Jonathan Southard
First Assistant Director
Ivan Strasburg
Camera Operator
Cindy Tolan
Casting
Felix Andrew
Sound Mixer
Faith Conroy
Script Supervisor
Desne Holland
Department Head Makeup
Jonathan Ferrantelli
Post Production Supervisor
Peter Malota
Stunts Coordinator
Voni Hinkle
Department Head Hair
Advertisement