Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Anita O'Day: The Life of a Jazz Singer Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The world lost the defiantly unpredictable, trend-busting bop vocalist [[Performer~P53390~Anita O'Day~anitaoday]] in November 2006, to dementia and pneumonia. A year or so prior, documentarians [[Performer~P276358~Ian McCrudden~ianmccrudden]] and [[Performer~P507549~Robbie Cavolina~robbiecavolina]] (perhaps foreseeing this loss) set out to create the definitive film portrait of the chanteuse, entitled Anita O'Day: The Life of a Jazz Singer. This biography recounts [[Performer~P53390~O'Day~anitaoday]]'s life story by intercutting archival performance footage of the vocalist with fond reminiscences from friends and colleagues and cutaways to [[Performer~P53390~O'Day~anitaoday]]'s original reviews and publicity material. Interviewees include [[Performer~P29240~Bryant Gumbel~bryantgumbel]], [[Performer~P59125~Harry Reasoner~harryreasoner]], [[Performer~P13358~Dick Clark~dickclark]], [[Performer~P61591~Annie Ross~annieross]], and [[Performer~P100990~Johnny Mandel~johnnymandel]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:August 15, 2008
Advertisement