Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Animal Kingdom Details


A youngster is given an inside look at a criminal empire that also happens to be his family in this independent drama. Teenage Joshua Cody (James Frecheville) is suddenly on his own after his mother's drug habit catches up with her, and he's taken in by his grandmother Smurf (Jacki Weaver), usually regarded as the black sheep of the family. Joshua quickly learns Smurf's reputation is well deserved; she and her four sons are members of a mid-level crime syndicate that operates out of her home in Melbourne. Baz (Joel Edgerton) looks after the money and is urging Smurf to move into something legit, Pope (Ben Mendelsohn) is a criminal jack-of-all-trades who never lets go of a grudge, Darren (Luke Ford) is an enforcer with an unfortunate weak streak, and Craig (Sullivan Stapleton) is a drug dealer who has become addicted to his own product. When Baz is murdered, the family's voice of reason is gone, and the unstable Pope takes the lead in the family's hierarchy; as suspicions fall on Joshua, the quiet newcomer is moved out of the house to keep him safe. Nathan Leckie (Guy Pearce) is a police detective who has found out who Joshua is and what he knows, and he tries to convince the teenager to help him put the Cody family behind bars, though Joshua isn't certain about his loyalties to these outlaws who are also his blood. The first feature film from director David Michod, Animal Kingdom was an official selection at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival, where it received the World Cinema Jury Prize for Best Dramatic Feature. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 13, 2010


Awarded by
National Board of Review Jacki Weaver Best Supporting Actress 2010 Winner
National Society of Film Critics Jacki Weaver Best Supporting Actress (Runner-up) 2010 Winner
L.A. Film Critics Association Jacki Weaver Best Supporting Actress 2010 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jacki Weaver Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 2010 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jacki Weaver Best Supporting Actress 2010 Nominee
New York Film Critics Circle David Michôd Best First Feature 2010 Winner


James Frecheville
as Joshua 'J' Cody
Ben Mendelsohn
as Andrew 'Pope' Cody
Joel Edgerton
as Barry 'Baz' Brown
Guy Pearce
as Detective Senior Sgt. Nathan Leckie
Luke Ford
as Darren Cody
Jacki Weaver
as Janine 'Smurf' Cody
Sullivan Stapleton
as Craig Cody
Daniel Wyllie
as Ezra White
Anthony Hayes
as Detective Justin Norris
Mirrah Foulkes
as Catherine Brown
Justin Rosniak
as Detective Randall Roche
Susan Prior
as Alicia Henry
Anna Lise Phillips
as Barrister Justine Hopper
Josh Helman
as Const. Peter Simmons
Kieran Darcy-Smith
as John Harrop
Andy McPhee
as Richard Collis
David Michôd
as Reporter


David Michôd
Liz Watts
David Michôd
Adam Arkapaw
Luke Doolan
Jo Ford
Production Designer
Janie Parker
Art Director
Vincent Sheehan
Executive Producer
Cappi Ireland
Costume Designer
Sam Petty
Sound/Sound Designer
Kirsty McGregor
Serena Gattuso
Production Coordinator
Peter Stubbs
Special Effects Supervisor
Philippe Decrausaz
Sound Recordist
Libby Sharpe
Line Producer
Sam Petty
Supervising Sound Editor
Helen Lovelock
Post Production Supervisor
Betty Fotofili
Second Assistant Director
Takahiro Suzuki
Visual Effects Supervisor
Zev Eleftheriou
Stunts Coordinator