Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Angels in America Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The epic HBO miniseries Angels in America is directed by [[Performer~P104435~Mike Nichols~mikenichols]] and written by the play's author, [[Performer~P278104~Tony Kushner~tonykushner]]. This six-part drama is adapted from the two full-length award-winning plays (Part I: The Millennium Approaches and Part II: Perestroika) originally performed on Broadway in 1993. Set in New York City during the mid-'80s, the story follows the interconnected lives of several people affected by the AIDS crisis, intense spiritual experiences, and the Reagan Administration. Newcomer [[Performer~P223276~Justin Kirk~justinkirk]] plays Prior Walter, a young man dying of AIDS. Things are made worse when he's abandoned by his lover, Jewish court clerk Louis Ironson ([[Performer~P235007~Ben Shenkman~benshenkman]]). Then he's visited by an Angel ([[Performer~P70692~Emma Thompson~emmathompson]]), who keeps crashing through his roof and insisting that he's a prophet.Meanwhile, conservative power monger Roy Cohn ([[Performer~P54596~Al Pacino~alpacino]]) is also dying of AIDS, but he's in serious denial about it. While in the hospital, he's continually visited by the ghost of Ethel Rosenberg ([[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]]), a woman he had sent to the electric chair. Roy's protégé is Mormon lawyer Joe Pitt (Patrick Wilson), who also tries to deny his own homosexuality. Joe's estranged wife Harper ([[Performer~P55116~Mary-Louise Parker~marylouiseparker]]) suffers from a Valium addiction and has an acute sensitivity to the world around her. Joe leaves her to start up a relationship with Louis, who works in his building. [[Performer~P77607~Jeffrey Wright~jeffreywright]] reprises his stage role of the trusty friend and nurse Belize. Angels in America first aired in two parts on HBO during December of 2003. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jeffrey Wright Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Televison Series 2003 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ben Shenkman Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Televison Series 2003 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Al Pacino Best Performance by an Actor in a Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television 2003 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Meryl Streep Best Performance by an Actress in a Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television 2003 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Mary-Louise Parker Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television 2003 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Patrick Wilson Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Televison Series 2003 Nominee

Cast

Al Pacino
as Roy Cohn
Meryl Streep
as Hannah Pitt
Emma Thompson
as The Angel
Mary-Louise Parker
as Harper Pitt
Jeffrey Wright
as Belize
Justin Kirk
as Prior Walter
Patrick Wilson
as Joe Pitt
Ben Shenkman
as Louis Ironson
Robin Weigert
as Mormon Mother
Brian Markinson
as Martin Heller
Justin Kirk
as Leatherman in Park
Jeffrey Wright
as Mr. Lies
Simon Callow
as Prior 2
James Cromwell
as Roy's Doctor
Michael Gambon
as Prior 1
Emma Thompson
as Emily
Emma Thompson
as Homeless Woman
Meryl Streep
as Ethel Rosenberg
Meryl Streep
as Rabbi Isador Chemelwitz

Crew

Mike Nichols
Director
Celia Costas
Producer
Tony Kushner
Play Author
Tony Kushner
Screenwriter
Stephen Goldblatt
Cinematographer
Evyen Klean
Musical Direction/Supervision
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
John Bloom
Editor
Stuart Wurtzel
Production Designer
Mike Nichols
Executive Producer
Cary Brokaw
Executive Producer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Ellen Lewis
Casting
Juliet Taylor
Casting
Michael Haley
Co-Executive Producer
Richard Edlund
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement