Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Angel Face Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P65749~Jean Simmons~jeansimmons]]' fascinating interpretation of an uncharacteristic role is the main drawing card of [[Performer~P107025~Otto Preminger~ottopreminger]]'s [[Feature~V177602~Angel Face~lacaradelangel]]. The daughter of Charles Treymayne ([[Performer~P45795~Herbert Marshall~herbertmarshall]]), who remarried a wealthy woman (Barbara O'Neil), Diane Treymayne's (Simmons) angelic countenance masks an unbridled psychotic who'll let nothing stand in the way of her happiness. Diane arranges for Catherine's death, making it look like an auto accident. Coveting family chauffeur Frank Jessup ([[Performer~P49738~Robert Mitchum~robertmitchum]]), Diane steals Frank away from his sweetheart Mary ([[Performer~P24972~Mona Freeman~monafreeman]]) and forces him to become her spiritual accomplice in her stepmother's murder. And when Diane finally realizes that she'll never, ever, be able to hold Frank, she... well, enough said. If [[Feature~V177602~Angel Face~lacaradelangel]] doesn't look like a typical early-1950s RKO Radio film, it may be because its director was borrowed from 20th Century-Fox, and its cinematographer ([[Performer~P165135~Harry Stradling~harrystradling]]) was a loan-out from [[Performer~P91976~Sam Goldwyn~samuelgoldwyn]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Robert Mitchum
as Frank Jessup
Jean Simmons
as Diane Tremayne
Mona Freeman
as Mary Wilton
Herbert Marshall
as Charles Tremayne
Leon Ames
as Fred Barrett
Barbara O'Neil
as Mrs. Tremayne
Kenneth Tobey
as Bill Crompton
Raymond Greenleaf
as Arthur Vance
Griff Barnett
as The judge
Robert Gist
as Miller
Morgan Farley
as Juror
Jim Backus
as District Attorney Judson
Frank O'Connor
as Bailiff
Alex Gerry
as Lewis, Frank's Attorney
Cora Shannon
as Patient
Morgan Brown
as Harry the Bartender
Bob Peoples
as Reporter
Frank Kumagai
as Satsuma
Pete Kellett
as Detective
Brick Sullivan
as Deputy Sheriff
George Sherwood
as Man
Ralph Volkie
as Good Humor Man
Jeffrey Sayre
as Court Clerk
Carl Sklover
as Man
Jack Chefe
as Man
Buck Young
as Assistant District Attorney
Grandon Rhodes
as Prison Chaplain
Charmienne Harker
as Secretary
Mike Lally
as Reporter
Gertrude Astor
as Matron
Lucille Barkley
as Waitress
Theresa Harris
as Nurse Theresa
Bess Flowers
as Barrett's Secretary
Charles Tannen
as TV Broadcaster

Crew

Otto Preminger
Director
Otto Preminger
Producer
Chester Erskine
Screen Story
Oscar Millard
Screenwriter
Harry Stradling
Cinematographer
Dimitri Tiomkin
Composer (Music Score)
Frederic Knudtson
Editor
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Carroll Clark
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Michael Woulfe
Costume Designer
Clem Portman
Sound/Sound Designer
Fred Fleck
First Assistant Director
Advertisement