Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

American Psycho Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Bret Easton Ellis's dark and violent satire of America in the 1980s is brought to the screen in this unsettling drama with blackly comic overtones. Patrick Bateman ([[Performer~P3538~Christian Bale~christianbale]]), the son of a wealthy Wall Street financier, is pursuing his own lucrative career with his father's firm. Bateman is the prototypical yuppie, obsessed with success, fashion, and style. He is also a serial killer who murders, rapes, and mutilates both strangers and acquaintances without provocation or reason. Donald Kimble ([[Performer~P16547~Willem Dafoe~willemdafoe]]), a police detective, questions Bateman about the disappearance of Paul Allen ([[Performer~P200349~Jared Leto~jaredleto]]), whom Patrick murdered several days earlier. As Kimble stays on Bateman's trail, Bateman's mask of studied, distant cool begins to fall apart. American Psycho also features [[Performer~P77086~Reese Witherspoon~reesewitherspoon]] as Bateman's girlfriend, as well as [[Performer~P46409~Samantha Mathis~samanthamathis]], [[Performer~P230831~Chloe Sevigny~chloësevigny]], and [[Performer~P228657~Guinevere Turner~guinevereturner]]; the latter also co-authored the screenplay. Controversy followed the production from the start, when speculation that [[Performer~P18926~Leonardo Di Caprio~leonardodicaprio]] would play Bateman sparked concerns that he would lure preteens to an R-rated movie. [[Performer~P18926~Di Caprio~leonardodicaprio]] soon bowed out of the project, and original leading man [[Performer~P3538~Bale~christianbale]] was reinstated. Later, a group of Toronto residents attempted to block filming in that city after Canadian serial killer Paul Bernardo claimed that Ellis's novel inspired his murder spree. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 21, 2000

Cast

Christian Bale
as Patrick Bateman
Willem Dafoe
as Donald Kimball
Jared Leto
as Paul Allen
Reese Witherspoon
as Evelyn Williams
Samantha Mathis
as Courtney Rawlinson
Chloë Sevigny
as Jean
Justin Theroux
as Timothy Bryce
Josh Lucas
as Craig McDermott
Guinevere Turner
as Elizabeth
Matt Ross
as Luis Carruthers
Bill Sage
as David Van Patten
Cara Seymour
as Christie

Crew

Mary Harron
Director
Edward R. Pressman
Producer
Christian Halsey Solomon
Producer
Chris Hanley
Producer
Bret Easton Ellis
Book Author
Mary Harron
Screenwriter
Guinevere Turner
Screenwriter
Andrzej Sekula
Cinematographer
Randall Poster
Musical Direction/Supervision
Barry Cole
Musical Direction/Supervision
Danny Elfman
Composer (Music Score)
Andrew Marcus
Editor
Gideon Ponte
Production Designer
Andrew M. Stearn
Art Director
Clifford Streit
Co-producer
Ernie Barbaresh
Co-producer
Joe Drake
Co-producer
Joe Drake
Executive Producer
Michael Paseornek
Executive Producer
Isis Mussenden
Costume Designer
Kerry Barden
Casting
Billy Hopkins
Casting
Suzanne Smith
Casting
Advertisement