Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Almost Heroes Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P92825~Christopher Guest~christopherguest]] ([[Feature~V154512~Waiting for Guffman~waitingforguffman]]) directed this comedy about two hapless explorers -- hard-drinking trapper Bartholomew Hunt (the late [[Performer~P22696~Chris Farley~chrisfarley]] in his last major role) and foppish Leslie Edwards ([[Performer~P56182~Matthew Perry~matthewperry]]) -- who lead an ill-fated 1804 expedition through the Pacific Northwest in a hopeless, doomed effort to reach the Pacific Ocean before Lewis and Clark. Others joining their trek are French linguist Guy Fontenot ([[Performer~P99559~Eugene Levy~eugenelevy]]), who is unable to decipher dialects of any Native American tribes; Spanish conquistador Hidalgo ([[Performer~P20623~Kevin Dunn~kevindunn]]), who seeks the Fountain of Youth; Fontenot's Indian mistress Shaquinna ([[Performer~P239278~Lisa Barbuscia~lisabarbuscia]]); Bidwell ([[Performer~P54603~David Packer~davidpacker]]), who keeps losing parts of his body; oddball Pratt ([[Performer~P10453~Hamilton Camp~hamiltoncamp]]); and Edwards' manservant Jonah ([[Performer~P77369~Bokeem Woodbine~bokeemwoodbine]]). Filmed on location in Northern California and the Big Bear region. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:May 29, 1998

Cast

Chris Farley
as Bartholomew Hunt
Matthew Perry
as Leslie Edwards
Eugene Levy
as Guy Fontenot
Kevin Dunn
as Hidalgo
Lisa Barbuscia
as Shaquinna
Bokeem Woodbine
as Johan
Steven M. Porter
as Higgins
David Packer
as Bidwell
Hamilton Camp
as Pratt
Lewis Arquette
as Merchant
Patrick Crenshaw
as Jackosn
Christian Clemenson
as Father Girard

Crew

Christopher Guest
Director
Denise Di Novi
Producer
Boyd Hale
Screenwriter
Mark Nutter
Screenwriter
Tom Wolfe
Screenwriter
Adam Kimmel
Cinematographer
Ronald Roose
Editor
Joseph T. Garrity
Production Designer
Pat Tagliaferro
Art Director
Mary Kane
Co-producer
Mark Weingarten
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Antico
Stunts
Barbara Cohen
Casting
Mary Gail Artz
Casting
Advertisement