Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Little Romance Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The disarming comedy A Little Romance features [[Performer~P40350~Diane Lane~dianelane]] as a 13-year-old American, living in Paris with her businessman stepfather ([[Performer~P32287~Arthur Hill~arthurhill]]) and her promiscuous mother ([[Performer~P37443~Sally Kellerman~sallykellerman]]). Mom is currently enamored with pretentious-filmmaker [[Performer~P20469~David Dukes~daviddukes]], and it is on the set of [[Performer~P20469~Dukes~daviddukes]]' latest picture that Lane meets another 13-year-old, insatiable French film buff [[Performer~P5780~Thelonious Bernard~theloniousbernard]]. A likeable street-smart petty thief and gambler, [[Performer~P5780~Bernard~theloniousbernard]] is instantly attracted to Lane. With the help of roguish old [[Performer~P105057~Laurence Olivier~laurenceolivier]], Lane and [[Performer~P5780~Bernard~theloniousbernard]] arrange a romantic rendezvous under the Bridge of Sighs in Venice. Naturally, when the kids disappear it's a cause for international concern, but all ends as it should. Some of the best moments in A Little Romance belong to [[Performer~P15668~Broderick Crawford~broderickcrawford]], unselfconsciously playing "himself" at a movie party. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:April 27, 1979

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Georges Delerue Best Original Score 1979 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Georges Delerue Best Original Score 1979 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Laurence Olivier Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1979 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Allan Burns Best Adapted Screenplay 1979 Nominee

Cast

Laurence Olivier
as Julius
Arthur Hill
as Richard King
Sally Kellerman
as Kay King
Diane Lane
as Lauren
Thelonious Bernard
as Daniel
Broderick Crawford
as Brod
David Dukes
as George De Marco
Andrew Duncan
as Bob Duryea
Claudette Sutherland
as Janet Duryea
Graham Fletcher-Cook
as Londet
Ashby Semple
as Natalie
Claude Brosset
as Michel Michon
Trinity Loren
Lucienne Legrand
as Cashier
Jacques Maury
as Insp. Leclerc
Carlo Lastricati
as Tour Guide
Anna Massey
as Mrs. Siegel
John Pepper
as 2nd Assistant Director
Michael Marshall
as 1st Assistant Director
Jeanne Herviale
as Woman in Metro
Peter Maloney
as Martin
David Gabison
as French Representative
Michel Bardinet
as French Ambassador
Tom Byron
Dominique Lavanant
as Mme. Corier

Crew

George Roy Hill
Director
George Roy Hill
Producer
Robert L. Crawford
Producer
Yves Rousset-Rouard
Producer
Patrick Cauvin
Book Author
Allan Burns
Screenwriter
Pierre-Wiliam Glenn
Cinematographer
Georges Delerue
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Bumstead
Production Designer
Rosine Delamare
Costume Designer
Michel Desrois
Sound/Sound Designer
Carlo Lastricati
First Assistant Director
Lucie Lichtig
Continuity
Advertisement