Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Alice's House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The personal and romantic peccadilloes of a Brazilian household come to light in this melodrama. Alice ([[Performer~P512416~Carla Ribas~carlaribas]]) works in a beauty salon and tries to keep her house in order with the help of her mother ([[Performer~P450762~Berta Zemel~bertazemel]]), though with four men in the house it's no small challenge. Alice's husband, Lindomar ([[Performer~P264219~Zecarlos Machado~zecarlosmachado]]), is a surly cab driver who is also the father of her three sons, Lucas ([[Performer~P512418~Vinicius Zinn~viniciuszinn]]), Edinho ([[Performer~P512419~Ricardo Vilaca~ricardovilaca]]), and Junior ([[Performer~P512420~Felipe Massuia~felipemassuia]]). Lucas has inherited his father's self-obsessed and womanizing ways, while Edinho leads a secret life he hides from his family, and Junior is just beginning to act on his budding interest in the opposite sex. Alice's relationship with Lindomar has been rocky for years, and when she meets Nilson ([[Performer~P512417~Luciano Quirino~lucianoquirino]]), the husband of Carmen ([[Performer~P455921~Renata Zhaneta~renatazhaneta]]), one of her regular customers, she senses a mutual attraction, and before long the two are having an affair. Alice experiences a mingled excitement and guilt about her relationship with Nilson, and her agony is compounded when she discovers that Lindomar is also having an affair -- with a teenage girl Alice has been mentoring. A Casa de Alice (aka Alice's House) was the first feature film for director [[Performer~P113814~Chico Teixeira~chicoteixeira]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 25, 2008

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Miami International Film Festival Carla Ribas Special Grand Jury Mention - Ibero-American Cinema Competition 2007 Winner

Cast

Carla Ribas
as Alice
Vinicius Zinn
as Lucas
Ricardo Vilaca
as Edinho
Felipe Massuia
as Junior
Berta Zemel
as Dona Jacira
ZeCarlos Machado
as Lindomar
Renata Zhaneta
as Carmen
Luciano Quirino
as Nilson
Mariana Leighton
as Thaïs

Crew

Chico Teixeira
Director
Patrick Leblanc
Producer
Zita Carvalhosa
Producer
Júlio Maria Pessoa
Screenwriter
Sabina Anzuategui
Screenwriter
Marcelo Gomes
Screenwriter
Chico Teixeira
Screenwriter
Mauro Pinheiro
Cinematographer
Vania Debs
Editor
Marcos Pedroso
Production Designer
Andre Simonetti
Costume Designer
Joao Godoy
Sound/Sound Designer
Fatima Toledo
Casting
Advertisement