Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]]'s first Hollywood studio production also marked his first (and only) foray into a woman-centered story. Alice Hyatt ([[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]]), a resigned Southwest housewife, takes advantage of her trucker husband's sudden death to hit the road with her bratty son Tommy ([[Performer~P43868~Alfred Lutter~alfredlutter]]) and pursue her childhood dream of a singing career. She finds a job as a lounge singer, but after a horrific encounter with an abusive new beau ([[Performer~P37381~Harvey Keitel~harveykeitel]]), she flees and winds up taking a waitress job at Mel's Diner, run by gruff cook Mel ([[Performer~P69979~Vic Tayback~victayback]]). With her career on hold, Alice soon finds strength and self-worth through her friendship with the other waitresses, saucy Flo ([[Performer~P39955~Diane Ladd~dianeladd]]) and spacy Vera ([[Performer~P86428~Valerie Curtin~valeriecurtin]]). When sensitive rancher David ([[Performer~P98154~Kris Kristofferson~kriskristofferson]]) starts courting her, Alice wonders if she wants to abandon her goals for domesticity again. To contrast Alice's dream life with her reality, Scorsese created a stylized opening sequence of Alice as a child reminiscent of [[Feature~V55014~The Wizard of Oz~thewizardofoz]], [[Feature~V14930~Duel in the Sun~duelinthesun]] and [[Feature~V20278~Gone With the Wind~gonewiththewind]], before shifting into the present-day atmospheric immediacy of location shooting and scenes built out of improvisations. That opening sequence alone cost over twice as much as Scorsese's debut feature, [[Feature~V54420~Who's That Knocking At My Door?~whosthatknockingatmydoor]]. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:December 9, 1974

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Getchell Best Original Screenplay 1974 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Robert Getchell Best Screenplay 1975 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Martin Scorsese Best Picture 1975 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ellen Burstyn Best Actress 1974 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ellen Burstyn Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1974 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ellen Burstyn Best Actress 1975 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Diane Ladd Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Diane Ladd Best Supporting Actress 1974 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Diane Ladd Best Supporting Actress 1975 Winner

Cast

Ellen Burstyn
as Alice Hyatt
Kris Kristofferson
as David
Alfred Lutter
as Alice's Son Tommy
Billy Green Bush
as Donald Hyatt
Diane Ladd
as Flo
Jodie Foster
as Young Girl Audrey
Harvey Keitel
as Ben Everhart
Harry Northrup
as Joe and Jim's Bartender
Henry Max Kendrick
as Shop Assistant
Murray Moston
as Bar Owner Jacobs
Vic Tayback
as Restaurant Owner Mel
Larry Cohen
as Diner at Mel and Ruby's
Valerie Curtin
as Vera
Ola Moore
as Old Woman
Martin Brinton
as Lenny
Mia Bendixsen
as Alice, Age 8
Dean Casper
as Chicken
Mardik Martin
as Customer in Club During Audition
Laura Dern
as Girl Eating Ice Cream Cone (uncredited)
Martin Scorsese
as Diner at Mel and Ruby's

Crew

Martin Scorsese
Director
Sandra Weintraub Roland
Producer
Audrey Maas
Producer
Robert Getchell
Screenwriter
Marcia Lucas
Editor
Sandra Weintraub
Co-producer
Mike Moder
First Assistant Director
Bob Westmoreland
Makeup
Advertisement