Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Alias Jesse James Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P33168~Bob Hope~bobhope]] plays a 19th-century insurance agent whose miserable sales record prompts his boss to send him out West, where he can (supposedly) do little harm. [[Performer~P33168~Hope~bobhope]] manages to sell a $100,000 life insurance policy--to outlaw Jesse James ([[Performer~P15017~Wendell Corey~wendellcorey]]), one of the worst "risks" in history! In his efforts to get the policy back, [[Performer~P33168~Hope~bobhope]] finds himself being mistaken for Jesse, which is all part of the outlaw's plan to get [[Performer~P33168~Hope~bobhope]] killed and thereby collect the policy money himself. But with the help of beauteous [[Performer~P23871~Rhonda Fleming~rhondafleming]] (the essentially honest beneficiary to Jesse's policy), [[Performer~P33168~Hope~bobhope]] gains a reputation as a lightning-fast gunslinger. In the inevitable shoot-out with the James gang, [[Performer~P33168~Hope~bobhope]] is helped out by several famous Westerners, including [[Performer~P223908~Gary Cooper~garycooper]], [[Performer~P61128~Roy Rogers~royrogers]], [[Performer~P2914~Gene Autry~geneautry]], [[Performer~P25985~James "Maverick" Garner~jamesgarner]], and even Tonto ([[Performer~P65688~Jay Silverheels~jaysilverheels]]). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Bob Hope
as Milford Farnsworth
Rhonda Fleming
as The Duchess
Wendell Corey
as Jesse James
Gloria Talbott
as Indian Maiden
Will Wright
as Titus Queasley
Fess Parker
as Davy Crockett
Ethan Laidlaw
as Henchman
Glenn Strange
as Henchman
Roy Rogers
as Himself
Harry Tyler
as Elmo, the Station Master
Jay Silverheels
as Tonto
Oliver Blake
as Undertaker
Emory Parnell
as Sheriff
James Burke
as Charlie, Bartender
Richard Alexander
as Jeremiah Cole
Lyle Latell
as Conductor
Gary Cooper
as Himself
Ward Bond
as Maj. Seth Adams
Jack Lambert
as Snake Brice
I. Stanford Jolley
as Conductor
James Garner
as Bret Maverick
Hugh O'Brian
as Wyatt Earp
Iron Eyes Cody
as Bit part
Gene Autry
as Himself
Bing Crosby
as Himself
George E. Stone
as Gibson Girl Fan
James Arness
as Matt Dillon
Gail Davis
as Annie Oakley
Nestor Paiva
as Bixby
Mike Mazurki
as Tough
Sid Melton
as Fight Fan

Crew

John Farrow
Director
Norman Z. McLeod
Director
Jack Hope
Producer
Bert Lawrence
Screen Story
William Bowers
Screenwriter
Lionel Lindon
Cinematographer
Jack Bachom
Editor
Roland Anderson
Art Director
Hal Pereira
Art Director
Bob Hope
Executive Producer
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Bertram Granger
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Charles Grenzbach
Sound/Sound Designer
John P. Fulton
Special Effects
Advertisement