Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Akira Details


One of the most influential examples of anime, Akira is based on the manga (comic book) by Katsuhiro Otomo. The story is set in the post-apocalyptic community of Neo-Tokyo. Tetsuo is a fiercely individualistic member of a scroungy motorcycle gang. The despotic authorities, the robot-like police, and even the cycle gang pursue Tetsuo when he's bombarded with a new, insidious energy source that has rendered him telekinetic. Budgeted at eight million dollars, Akira has become a cult favorite in the States thanks to generous midnight-movie exposure and its availibilty on video and cable TV. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1988


Mitsuo Iwara
as Kaneda (Japanese Version)
Nozomu Sasaki
as Tetsuo (Japanese Version)
Jan Rabson
as Tetsuo (Streamline English Version)
Lara Cody
as Kei (Streamline English version)
Mami Koyama
as Kei (Japanese Version)
Taro Ishida
as Watanabe (Japanese Version)
Tony Pope
as Yamagata (Streamline English Version)
Masaaki Ohkura
as Yamagata (Japanese Version)
Yuriko Fuchizaki
as Kaori (Japanese Version)
Barbara Goodson
as Kaori (Streamline English Version)
Yosuke Akimoto
as Store Owner (Japanese Version)
Takeshi Kusao
as Kai (Japanese Version)
Taro Ishida
as The Colonel (Japanese verion)
Bob Bergen
as Masaru (Streamline English Version)
Tony Pope
as Colonel (Streamline English Version)
Tony Pope
as Nezu (Streamline English Version)
Sandra Fox
as Kiyoko (Streamline English Version)
Barbara Larsen
Simon Prescott
as The Doctor (Animaze English Version)
Tessho Genda
as Ryu
Mizuho Suzuki
as Doctor
Tessho Genda
as Ryu
Simon Prescott
as The Doctor (Animaze English Version)


Katsuhiro Otomo
Shunzo Kato
Katsuhiro Kato
Sawako Noma
Ryohei Suzuki
Izo Hashimoto
Katsuhiro Otomo
Screen Story
Katsuhiro Otomo
Katsuji Misawa
Shoji Yamashiro
Composer (Music Score)
Shoji Yamashiro
Musical Direction/Supervision
Takeshi Seyama
Toshiharu Mizutani
Art Director
Yoshimasa Mizuo
Associate Producer
Sawako Noma
Executive Producer
Susumu Aketagawa
Sound Director
Tetsuo Segawa
Sound Recordist
Hiroaki Sato
Animation Director
Katsuhiro Otomo
From Graphic Novel by
Katsuhiro Otomo
Character Design
Takashi Nakamura
Chief Animator
Shizuo Kurahashi
Supervising Editor
Yoshio Takeuchi
Animation Director