Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Air Force One Details


In this action drama, Harrison Ford plays James Marshall, a onetime combat hero in the Vietnam War who is now President of the United States. While visiting the former Soviet Union, Marshall gives a speech in which he supports a get-tough attitude against both terrorists and a right-wing general and war criminal from Kazakhstan imprisoned in Moscow, earning him few friends in the Eastern Bloc. While flying back to the United States aboard Air Force One, Marshall and his staff discover that one of the journalists returning with them is actually Ivan Korshunov (Gary Oldman), a Kazakhstani terrorist, who hijacks the plane with three associates and holds the president hostage -- with his wife and daughter on board. Marshall must use his strength and intelligence to keep the terrorists at bay and devise a plan to allow his family to escape to safety, while on the ground the vice-president (Glenn Close), the secretary of defense (Dean Stockwell), and the attorney general (Philip Baker Hall) grapple over what to do and how much control to take in this crisis. Slam-bang action sequences and plot twists fly fast and furious in this nail-biter from director Wolfgang Petersen, who previously generated suspense under water (rather than in the air) with Wolfgang Petersen. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 25, 1997


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Francis-Bruce Best Editing 1997 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Keith A. Wester Best Sound 1997 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Rick Kline Best Sound 1997 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Paul Massey Best Sound 1997 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Doug Hemphill Best Sound 1997 Nominee


Harrison Ford
as President James Marshall
Gary Oldman
as Ivan Korshunov
Glenn Close
as Vice President Kathryn Bennett
Wendy Crewson
as Grace Marshall
Paul Guilfoyle
as Chief of Staff Lloyd Shepherd
William H. Macy
as Major Caldwell
Liesel Matthews
as Alice Marshall
Dean Stockwell
as Defense Secretary Walter Dean
Xander Berkeley
as Agent Gibbs
Bill Smitrovich
as Gen. Northwood
Elya Baskin
as Andrei Kolchak
David Vadim
as Igor Nevsky
Tom Everett
as NSA Adviser Jack Doherty
Spencer Garrett
as White House Aide Thomas Lee
Philip Baker Hall
as U.S. Attorney Gen. Ward
Donna Bullock
as Press Secretary Melanie Mitchell
David Gianopoulos
as Agent Johnson
Don McManus
as F-15 Leader Col. Carlton
Glenn Morshower
as Agent Walters
Jürgen Prochnow
as Gen. Alexander Radek
Mario Roberts
as Special Service Agent


Wolfgang Petersen
Wolfgang Petersen
Armyan Bernstein
Jonathan Shestack
Gail Katz
Andrew W. Marlowe
Michael Ballhaus
Joel McNeely
Composer (Music Score)
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Francis-Bruce
William Sandell
Production Designer
Carl Aldana
Art Director
Carl Stensel
Art Director
Nancy Patton
Art Director
Peter Kohn
Associate Producer
Mary Montiforte
Associate Producer
Thomas A. Bliss
Executive Producer
David Lester
Executive Producer
Marc Abraham
Executive Producer
Ernie Bishop
Set Designer
Martha Johnson
Set Designer
Harry E. Otto
Set Designer
Karl J. Martin
Set Designer
Lynn Christopher
Set Designer
Erica Phillips
Costume Designer
Keith A. Wester
Sound/Sound Designer
Rick Kline
Sound/Sound Designer
Doug Hemphill
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Kohn
First Assistant Director
Janet Hirshenson
Jane Jenkins
Robert "Bobby Z" Zajonc
Richard Edlund
Visual Effects Supervisor
David M. Dunlap
Second Unit Director