Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

After the Thin Man Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This second of MGM's [[Feature~V49456~Thin Man~thethinman]] films reteams [[Performer~P57536~William Powell~williampowell]] and [[Performer~P43561~Myrna Loy~myrnaloy]] as, respectively, bibulous private detective Nick Charles and his socialite wife Nora. The Charleses are sucked into another murder case via Nick's lovely cousin [[Performer~P40279~Elissa Landi~elissalandi]], whose husband [[Performer~P45768~Alan Marshall~alanmarshall]] has vanished. Hubby has been conducting an affair with nightclub thrush [[Performer~P48003~Dorothy McNulty~dorothymcnulty]] (later known as [[Performer~P65976~Penny Singleton~pennysingleton]]) and is also blackmailing gangsterish [[Performer~P10308~Joseph Calleia~josephcalleia]]. When the corpses begin piling up, Nick and Nora try to piece the clues together, with the earnest assistance of [[Performer~P68236~Jimmy Stewart~jamesstewart]], who carries a torch for Landi. You won't believe who turns out to be the murderer in this one--then again, given the plot's strict adherence to "least likely suspect" formula, you probably will. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 1936

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Albert Hackett Best Screenplay 1936 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Frances Goodrich Best Screenplay 1936 Nominee

Cast

William Powell
as Nick Charles
Myrna Loy
as Nora Charles
James Stewart
as David Graham
Elissa Landi
as Selma Landis
Joseph Calleia
as Dancer
Jessie Ralph
as Aunt Katherine Forrest
Teddy Hart
as Floyd Casper
Sam Levene
as Lt. Abrams
George Zucco
as Dr. Adolph Kammer
Paul Fix
as Phil Byrnes
Tom Ricketts
as Henry the Butler
Bobby Watson
as Leader of Late Crowd
Dorothy McNulty
as Polly Byrnes
Edie Adams
as Girl
Jack Norton
as Reporter
William Benedict
George Guhl
as S.F. Police Captain
Richard Loo
as Headwaiter
Eric Wilton
as Peter, butler
Harry Tyler
as Fingers
Charles Trowbridge
as Police Examiner
Constantine Romanoff
Charles "Heinie" Conklin
Murray Alper
as Kid
Zeffie Tilbury
as Lucy
Donald Briggs
as Reporter
Dick Rush
as San Francisco Detective
Clarence Kolb
as Lucius
Vince Barnett
as Wrestling manager
John Kelly
as Harold
Mary Gordon
as Rose (the cook)
Sherry Hall
as Photographer
Dorothy Vaughan
as Charlotte
Jack Adair
as Escort of Dizzy Blonde
Guy Usher
as Chief of Detectives
Edgar Dearing
as Bill, the San Francisco Policeman
George H. Reed
as Porter
Charles Arnt
as Drunk (uncredited)

Crew

W.S. Van Dyke
Director
Hunt Stromberg
Producer
Frances Goodrich
Screenwriter
Albert Hackett
Screenwriter
Oliver Marsh
Cinematographer
Arthur Freed
Songwriter
Edward Ward
Composer (Music Score)
Walter Donaldson
Songwriter
Herbert Stothart
Composer (Music Score)
George Forrest
Songwriter
Nacio Herb Brown
Composer (Music Score)
Nacio Herb Brown
Songwriter
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Edwin B. Willis
Art Director
Dolly Tree
Costume Designer
Advertisement