Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Advise and Consent Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The first of Allen Drury "all names changed to protect the guilty" political novels, Advise and Consent was brought to the screen by producer/director [[Performer~P107025~Otto Preminger~ottopreminger]]. The film hinges upon the appointment of Robert Leffingwell ([[Performer~P24097~Henry Fonda~henryfonda]]) to Secretary of State. Leffingwell has been hand-picked by the President ([[Performer~P71305~Franchot Tone~franchottone]]), meaning that there'll be a battle on the Senate floor between adherents of and opponents to the current administration. Among the participants are veteran Dixiecrat [[Performer~P98862~Charles Laughton~charleslaughton]], freshman Senator [[Performer~P103863~Don Murray~donmurray]] and powerseeker [[Performer~P28934~George Grizzard~georgegrizzard]]. [[Performer~P102566~Burgess Meredith~burgessmeredith]] also shows up as a man who is brought into the Senate to "prove" that Leffingwell is a communist. To neutralize [[Performer~P103863~Murray~donmurray]], [[Performer~P28934~Grizzard~georgegrizzard]] threatens to dredge up a homosexual incident in [[Performer~P103863~Murray~donmurray]]'s past, which results in the latter's suicide. Advise and Consent is a slow and old-fashioned film, coming to life only when [[Performer~P98862~Laughton~charleslaughton]] and [[Performer~P28934~Grizzard~georgegrizzard]] are on screen--and in the climax, in which the fate of Leffingwell's appointment is left in the hands of acting President [[Performer~P3047~Lew Ayres~lewayres]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 6, 1962

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Burgess Meredith Best Supporting Actor 1962 Winner

Cast

Henry Fonda
as Robert Leffingwell
Charles Laughton
as Sen. Seabright "Seab" Cooley
Don Murray
as Sen. Brigham Anderson
Walter Pidgeon
as Sen. Bob Munson
Gene Tierney
as Dolly Harrison
Peter Lawford
as Sen. Lafe Smith
Lew Ayres
as The Vice-President
Burgess Meredith
as Herbert Gelman
George Grizzard
as Sen. Fred Van Ackerman
Paul Ford
as Sen. Stanley Danta
Franchot Tone
as The President
Rene Paul
as French Ambassador
Michele Montau
as Celestine Barre
Malcolm Atterbury
as Sen. Tom August
Edward Andrews
as Sen. Orrin Knox
Tom Helmore
as British Ambassador
Hilary Eaves
as Lady Maudulayne
Eddie Hodges
as Johnny Leffingwell
Betty White
as Sen. Bessie Adams
Chet Stratton
as Rev. Birch
Bill Quinn
as Sen. Hendershot
Cay Forrester
as President's Secretary
Sid Gould
as Bartender
Russ Brown
as Nightwatchman

Crew

Otto Preminger
Director
Otto Preminger
Producer
Allen Drury
Book Author
Wendell Mayes
Screenwriter
Jerry Fielding
Composer (Music Score)
Lyle Wheeler
Production Designer
Eli Benneche
Set Designer
Hope Bryce
Costume Designer
Harold Lewis
Sound/Sound Designer
Del Armstrong
Makeup
Robert Jiras
Makeup
Advertisement