Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Adventures of Sir Galahad [Serial] Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The legendary Knights of the Round Table came to the screen in 1949 courtesy of penny-pinching serial producer [[Performer~P96884~Sam Katzman~samkatzman]]. A pre-Superman [[Performer~P107820~George Reeves~georgereeves]] starred in the title role, a knight who, in order to join King Arthur ([[Performer~P41679~Nelson Leigh~nelsonleigh]]) and his famous table, must obtain the missing sword Excalibur whose powers can render a person invisible. Sir Galahad is hindered in his quest by the occupying Saxons in general and by Merlin the magician ([[Performer~P22882~William Fawcett~williamfawcett]]) and a mysterious Black Knight ([[Performer~P55925~Leonard Penn~leonardpenn]]) in particular. All the legendary characters appear in this serial, including Morgan Le Fay ([[Performer~P206969~Pat Barton~patbarton]]); Sir Lancelot ([[Performer~P57938~Hugh Prosser~hughprosser]]); Queen Guinevere ([[Performer~P67659~Marjorie Stapp~marjoriestapp]]); and Sir Gawain ([[Performer~P72706~Rick Vallin~rickvallin]]). [[Performer~P96884~Katzman~samkatzman]] and screenwriters [[Performer~P106683~George H. Plympton~georgeplympton]], Lewis Clay and [[Performer~P162829~David Mathews~davidmathews]] added a rotund sidekick, Bors, played, surprisingly, by veteran B-Western menace [[Performer~P97440~Charles King~charlesking]]. Unfortunately, producer [[Performer~P96884~Katzman~samkatzman]]'s pernicious methods rendered the serial less than first class. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

Lois Hall
as Lady of the Lake
William Fawcett
as Merlin
Charles King
as Bors
Nelson Leigh
as King Arthur
George Reeves
as Sir Galahad
John Merton
as Ulric
Pierce Lyden
as Cawker
Hugh Prosser
as Sir Lancelot
Marjorie Stapp
as Guinevere
Don C. Harvey
as Bartog

Crew

Spencer Gordon Bennet
Director
Advertisement