Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Ant-Man

  • As Good As It Gets

1 of 2
At Home
  • Dredd

  • The Babymakers

  • The Heart Specialist

  • Next Day Air

  • Not Easily Broken

  • Southland Tales

  • 4 Life

  • Dirty

  • Above the Rim

  • Remember the Titans

1 of 10

Wood Harris Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A tall, polished actor adept at a broad array of parts and types, Wood Harris grew up amid the impoverished and crime-ridden ghettos of Chicago's West Side -- and reportedly felt intrigued by the many contradictions of the surrounding environment. The young man also felt drawn to acting, and the two interests converged in his first cinematic assignment: a role in [[Performer~P167048~Jeff Pollack~jeffpollack]]'s urban-themed sports drama [[Feature~V131139~Above the Rim~abovetherim]] (1994), starring gangsta rap legend [[Performer~P64741~Tupac Shakur~tupacshakur]]. Harris only had a bit part in the film, but his work continued, and 2000 marked his breakthrough year: the year that not only brought with it a highly visible role as a footballer in the [[Performer~P83309~Jerry Bruckheimer~jerrybruckheimer]]-produced inspirational sports drama [[Feature~V209853~Remember the Titans~rememberthetitans]] (opposite screen heavyweight [[Performer~P74843~Denzel Washington~denzelwashington]]) but -- more significantly for Harris -- a lead in the Showtime telemovie [[Feature~V211638~Hendrix~hendrix]], a biopic of rock demigod [[Performer~P94025~Jimi Hendrix~jimihendrix]]. The drama paved the way for more prominent billings, and Harris continued to realize his potential with a regular role on HBO's [[Feature~V270832~The Wire~thewire[tvseries]]] (as Avon Barksdale) and a key supporting part as Dion Warner (aka Dion Element) in [[Performer~P299369~Richard Kelly~richardkelly]]'s dystopian black comedy [[Feature~V325848~Southland Tales~southlandtales]] (2006). Meanwhile, at around the same time, Harris recorded his first rap album, {^K-Town} -- its title a reference to the infamous Chicago neighborhood of the same name -- which chronicled his experiences growing up in the Windy City. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement