Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Chisum

At Home
  • Sincerely Yours

  • For You I Die

  • Tomboy and the Champ

  • Lafayette Escadrille

  • Darby's Rangers

  • The Way West

  • Merrill's Marauders

  • Gun the Man Down

  • China Doll

  • Cheyenne Autumn

1 of 10

William H. Clothier Biography

  • Profession: Cinematographer
  • Born: Jan 1, 1903
  • Died: Jan 7, 1996

Cinematographer William H. Clothier entered films in 1923 as a 20-year-old assistant cameraman. Clothier made a name for himself early on with his excellent aerial photography in the 1927 blockbuster [[Feature~V54791~Wings~wings]]. Unable to gain entry into the American cameramen's union for several years, he plied his trade in other countries, returning to Hollywood after serving with the Air Corps in World War II. After attaining his first director-of-photography credit with 1947's [[Feature~V91995~For You I Die~foryouidie]], Clothier contributed mightily to the Western and "outdoor" films of [[Performer~P90133~John Ford~johnford]], [[Performer~P116375~William Wellman~williamwellman]], [[Performer~P115880~Raoul Walsh~raoulwalsh]], [[Performer~P7021~Budd Boetticher~buddboetticher]], [[Performer~P105940~Sam Peckinpah~sampeckinpah]], and [[Performer~P97177~Burt Kennedy~burtkennedy]]. He also worked with the mercurial [[Performer~P212257~Andrew Stone~andrewstone]] in [[Feature~V108005~Ring of Fire~ringoffire]] (1960); after risking his neck filming an actual forest fire, Clothier, like so many of his colleagues before him, swore never to come within hailing distance of [[Performer~P212257~Stone~andrewstone]] ever again. Oscar nominations were bestowed upon Clothier for his work on [[Performer~P116130~John Wayne~johnwayne]]'s [[Feature~V1351~The Alamo~thealamo]] (1960) and [[Performer~P90133~John Ford~johnford]]'s [[Feature~V9133~Cheyenne Autumn~cheyenneautumn]] (1964). In 1965, William H. Clothier made his acting debut, playing a small part in [[Performer~P47779~Andrew McLaglen~andrewvmclaglen]]'s [[Feature~V44279~Shenandoah~shenandoah]] (which he also photographed). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement