Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement

At Home
  • Sparkle

  • The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement

  • Scratch the Surface

  • The Preacher's Wife

  • The Princess Diaries

  • Waiting to Exhale

  • Whitney Houston: The Greatest Hits

  • The Bodyguard

1 of 8

Whitney Houston Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Producer
  • Born: Aug 9, 1963
  • Died: Feb 11, 2012

The daughter of Cissy Houston and a cousin of [[Performer~P74816~Dionne Warwick~dionnewarwick]], singer Whitney Houston burst on the music scene with her inaugural album in 1985, becoming the first woman performer to debut at the number one slot in the [[Feature~V175613~Billboard~billboarddad]] charts. Houston could have remained merely a fabulously successful songstress, but in 1992 she decided to make her film debut in [[Feature~V6534~The Bodyguard~thebodyguard]]. Playing an ill-tempered rock star, Houston was paired with [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]], who portrayed an ex-cop hired to protect her from a stalking fan. Written years earlier by [[Performer~P96824~Lawrence Kasdan~lawrencekasdan]] as a vehicle for Steve McQueen, [[Feature~V6534~The Bodyguard~thebodyguard]] made a pile at the box office, providing Whitney Houston with yet another vocal hit: a new version of the [[Performer~P105707~Dolly Parton~dollyparton]] standard "I Will Always Love You", which became the biggest-selling single in the history of pop music. Houston was married to oft-arrested funk singer [[Performer~P219213~Bobby Brown~bobbybrown]] from 1992-2007, with whom she had a daughter, Bobbi. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement