Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Tomorrowland

  • Particle Fever

  • Apocalypse Now Redux

  • The Godfather Part II

1 of 4
At Home
  • Side by Side

  • The Wolfman

  • Tetro

  • Youth Without Youth

  • Jarhead

  • Julia

  • The Godfather Part III

  • The Godfather Part II

  • THX 1138

  • Cold Mountain

1 of 10

Walter Murch Biography

  • Profession: Editor, Sound/Sound Designer, Re-Recording Mixer
  • Born: Jul 12, 1943
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Sound editor Walter Murch received his education in film at the University of Southern California. He has worked closely with a number of renowned directors, perhaps most notably [[Performer~P85868~Francis Ford Coppola~francisfordcoppola]] and [[Performer~P100308~George Lucas~georgelucas]]. Murch has earned a number of awards and nominations for his work with Coppola, including an Oscar for his sound work on [[Feature~V2675~Apocalypse Now~apocalypsenow]] (1979). In 1996, Murch shared another Academy Award with [[Performer~P216642~Mark Berger~markberger]], [[Performer~P236875~David Parker~davidparker]], and [[Performer~P166655~Chris Newman~chrisnewman]] for their work on [[Performer~P102995~Anthony Minghella~anthonyminghella]]'s [[Feature~V136728~The English Patient~theenglishpatient]]; he and Minghella again collaborated three years later on [[Feature~V181276~The Talented Mr. Ripley~thetalentedmrripley]]. ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Advertisement