Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Toy Story 2

  • The Princess Bride

  • All That Jazz

1 of 3
At Home
  • The Double

  • Don Peyote

  • Crackers

  • Admission

  • A Late Quartet

  • Vamps

  • The Windmill Movie

  • Cats & Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore

  • Toy Story 3

  • New York City Serenade

1 of 10

Wallace Shawn Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Nov 12, 1943
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

The son of an editor for the New Yorker, the diminutive comedic actor Wallace Shawn achieved immortality for his portrayal of the Sicilian Vizzini in the 1987 classic The Princess Bride. A graduate of both Harvard and Oxford University, he has taught several courses in English and struggled as a playwright in the early '70s; in 1977 he translated [[Performer~P318077~Machiavelli~niccolomachiavelli]]'s The Mandrake. Shawn broke into films soon after, building a successful career as a supporting actor to help fund his playwriting. He debuted in two of the best films of 1979: [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s [[Feature~V31285~Manhattan~manhattan]] and [[Performer~P90209~Bob Fosse~bobfosse]]'s [[Feature~V1591~All That Jazz~allthatjazz]].

In 1981, he co-wrote the semi-autobiographical [[Feature~V34015~My Dinner With André~mydinnerwithandre]], a talky comedy starring himself and theater director [[Performer~P28658~André Gregory~andregregory]] in a dinner conversation, directed by [[Performer~P100911~Louis Malle~louismalle]]. The movie was acclaimed by critics and a cult favorite. After this personal project, Shawn would build a career out of playing brief but surprisingly memorable roles in a long list of movies. His performance as the leader of the misfit criminal gang in [[Feature~V39218~The Princess Bride~theprincessbride]] proved a pivotal moment, and that same year, he supplied the heroic voice for the Masked Avenger in [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s [[Feature~V40059~Radio Days~radiodays]].
Shawn would also go on to do voice acting in projects like [[Feature~V134629~The Goofy Movie~agoofymovie]], [[Feature~V1560~All Dogs Go to Heaven~alldogsgotoheaven]], and the [[Feature~V132294~Toy Story~toystory]] series. He would also continue to work with [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]] throughout the next decade, and picked up a new generation of fans playing debate teacher Mr. Hall in the 1995 high school classic Clueless. Shawn would also take his quirky persona to the small screen with appearances on TV shows likeMurphy Brown, The Cosby Show, [[Feature~V175366~Star Trek: Deep Space Nine~startrek:deepspacenine[tvseries]]], Sex and the City, as well as the ABC sitcom version of [[Feature~V134935~Clueless~clueless]].

Throughout his acting career, Shawn has managed to continue writing successful plays, and eventually adapted one of them, The Designated Mourner, for a feature film in 1997. In 2002, he played the publishing boss Mr. Gelb for the "Greta" story in [[Performer~P49307~Rebecca Miller~rebeccamiller]]'s [[Feature~V259867~Personal Velocity: Three Portraits~personalvelocity:threeportraits]]. Shawn would continue to appear regularly on screen in the years to come, playing recurring roles on The L Word, Gossip Girl, and Eureka, ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement